We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Given hindsight...one of the greatest nights (of a life blessed with many.)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Given hindsight...one of the greatest nights (of a life blessed with many.)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Last evening, a restaurant tablemate asked if anyone had ever heard of the "Tickle Pink." My mind quickly flashed back to nine years prior (before "Tripadvisor" reviews even existed) to the night my then-new wife and I drove down following a San Francisco business weekend, and stayed at this quirkily-named establishment. With benefit of close to ten years of hindsight (in-fact, our decade anniversary upcoming) and having stayed at some of the finest hotels in not just the US, but worldwide, I simply have lost track of the number of times in which I have tried to describe to people one of the greatest evenings of my life. The Inn has been well described within these several-hundred reviews, and thus there is no need to recover this same ground, however what I will share is that this Inn is the kind of forum upon which, given the situation, an indelible mark may be left upon your soul. Admittedly, my recollection is one enveloped in a mist of what was then newly minted love and unbridled enthusiasm regarding the future, but time has done nothing to dim these memories, as the sounds, the smells, and the feel of this truly unique place remains a permanent touchstone. And lest ye think that these memories have perhaps become rose-colored through time, I will never forget sitting on the balcony just prior to our departure, permanently imprinting these memories in real-time for posterity in the Journal that was provided in the room for just such purpose, serving as living proof. Life is indeed what you make of it, and the Tickle Pink can certainly not work miracles (for there is only one being who can achieve that) but if you wish to mine for the most that your partnership has capable within it, try a visit to the Pink. It is special.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JetDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    179
    59
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
804
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This place is pure luxury! The best views of the Pacific on your huge balcony. The room has a fireplace and sitting area, whirlpool tub, luxurious linens and top class. This place sets the standard for luxury at it's finest and it is hard for us to stay anywhere else. We can't wait to get back! You don't get a fancy lobby, but you do get extraordinary service, comfort, views and the most relaxing establishment anywhere. It was the most we ever spent for a room/suite, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicetoeatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I'm not big on B&Bs but this one was absolutely perfect from the time you check in. Very friendly staff. DVD movies for you to borrow, free binoculars to use, champagne and chocolates delivered to your room when you first arrive. First night we stayed in the oceanview room with fireplace. They provide 3 Duraflame logs in the room, and you have access to all the firewood you want down by the vending machine. Second night we stayed in the "cove view room w/o fireplace". While the change in view was nice, we should have stuck with a room with a fireplace. Having a warm fire burning thru the night definitely made our stay.

Oceanview was definitely nicer and bigger than the cove view one. Cove view one is smaller and does have a lil lacquer-esque smell mentioned in some reviews. Nothing bothersome. Breakfast was delicious. Eggs prepared differently each morning. Sausage patties taste just like McDonald's. Yum. Plus pastries, fruit and juices. Free wine and cheese from 4-6 was nice bonus but not something you need to plan around. Non-alcoholic sparkling cider also was provided.

Overall, this is a hotel I definitely would not mind revisiting.

Room Tip: Go with a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HouseHusband78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Love the inn, love the location, love everything about this place! We stayed at Tickle Pink Inn for 2 nights but had to do a room switch because the inn was so busy. The first night we stayed in room 27, an oceanview with fireplace. The room was fantastic. It was a real wood-burning fireplace and the inn had both duraflame logs and real wood for us to use. We LOVED hearing the crackle of the fireplace. The room was very large and clean and had a large balcony overlooking the ocean. Charming details in the room. They had told us when we reserved the room that we'd be able to see the terrace where they serve breakfast/wine and cheese from our balcony. This wasn't an issue at all - the view was still gorgeous and it was wonderful waking up to the smells of homemade breakfast.

The second night we stayed in room 10, a cove view room with balcony. The room switch was very easy. We just packed up our stuff and they moved it for us while we were out. They were also very flexible with us about the time we wanted to move our stuff, etc. The cove view room did have a smell of varnish in it, but not overwhelming to us. The views were gorgeous, but the room was much smaller (more like a typical hotel room) and we much preferred the room with the fireplace. Still cute and charming.

The inn offers plenty of little extras - champagne (or sparkling cider) and chocolates brought to your room the first night you arrive. Free waters. Movie selections for you to watch in your rooms. Breakfast was great - you can have this delivered or in the breakfast area. The apple strudel is delicious. The sausages are also great. They do a wine and cheese reception from 4:30 - 6:00 every evening with a selection of cheeses, wines and sparkling cider. Everyone was so friendly and the location on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific is gorgeous!

If you are driving down Highway 1 to Big Sur, make sure to have lunch at the Post Ranch Inn. We were also able to get to Carmel-by-the-Sea and Monterey easily. We definitely hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PradaLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just had our second use of this B&B. It again was wonderful
Betz

Room Tip: All rooms have good ocean views. Add a fireplace for romance. Nice list of free DVD. Excellent co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoop2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

What's not to love? Location, charm, all the extras included and an attentive staff that cares that your stay is perfect. We celebrated my husband's birthday this past weekend at Tickle Pink and could not have been happier. The inn is nettled in the woods perched above the rocky Pacific coast. The whales were migrating... so many of them visible from our private balcony. A lovely breakfast with fresh pastries and fruit along with some heartier fare is served every morning - you choose whether to enjoy it by the crackling fire, on the deck gazing on the ocean or have it served to your room. In the late afternoon, enjoy local wines and an assortment of cheeses. The icing on the cake was a chilled bottle of champagne, chocolates and a rose served to our room in celebration of my husband's birthday. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FL-GAL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel has so much Charm. I'm writing this review after sitting on my balcony overlooking the ocean and noticing whale's swim by. when we checked in they said you could barrow binoculars which I thought was strange but now I get it! Whale watching from the comfort of your room. This place is better then Hawaii, a much better value. The only negative is some road noise from the street below but every hotel next to this will have the same thing and you only hear it when outside.

This is not a place for kids but great for relaxing and great food.... HINT: Get the upgraded room with the spa tub, fireplace, and ocean view. they are much bigger then the other rooms.

Room Tip: room 31 to 34 have the best view of the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_AZ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing