We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for romance with views of the ocean”
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #16 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for romance with views of the ocean”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

There are few places in the Carmel village that you can get a room with a view of the ocean. Tally Ho has many rooms with such views. We love Rooms 108 and 109 because they are very large and include comfortable couches/chairs in front of the fireplace. Both rooms have private patios with outdoor table/chairs and lounges; great place for a little wine and sunset watching. Although we haven't been in other rooms, there are several more that appear to have good locations in the Inn. Breakfast is included and there is hot coffee and hot chocolate available in the office. You don't have to search for parking on the street because the Tally Ho has an underground parking garage. Hooray!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltoseeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    49
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
146
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were looking for something clean, comfortable, and intimate with a view of the ocean for our stay in Carmel, and the Tally Ho Inn was just perfect for us. We caught wind of the "certain" rooms that provide the best views and we were fortunate to grab the best one of them all (sorry!...you'll have to do some detective work of your own in the reviews to figure it out). Anyway, short answer-very nice folks, very laid back, great walking access to downtown Carmel and the ocean, the rooms were very well kept, and we had a wonderful time watching the sun set while enjoying some champagne in company with one of the resident seagulls (he got some bread-no champagne). Liked it so much, we reserved the room for next year, which begs a mention that the popular rooms at this inn are reserved well in advance, and don't bother trying to snag a room during the auto Concours week-they are waiting list only. They benefit from a connection with the Pine Inn and Il Fornaio's (sp?) across the street, which provide breakfast and room service and other amenities as well. Very authentic Inn in the flavor of Carmel itself. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RouteBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We, two Swiss travelers, stayed at the Tally Ho for three nights and were absolutely impressed by the people, the location, the features of the inn, etc. and long to return on our next trip through California. We travel a lot and have rarely found a place where so much comes together in one place; we highly recommend it to anybody looking for some ambiance, comfort and friendly people

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Travlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Room 111 (smaller than 108) but very nice and very private, beautiful view of ocean, all the amenities, very helpful person in the office (Lorne), and a fairly short walk to the beach. Couldn't have been more satisfied!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We took advantage of various specials and were able to take a Superior King in the newly remodeled area. We were promised "spectacular ocean views" and I'd have to say the room lived up to billing. We had a small balcony and big picture windows (with the bed facing these) that opened to a beautiful view through the trees. The room was large and the bathroom was very comfortable, with a Jacuzzi tub. Lucille and John were both super helpful. If we come back to Carmel without our dogs, we'll definitely stop here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plannerwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

This was my second stay at the Tally Ho (room 105) and it was just as wonderful this time around. Everything is so luscious, from the heated bathroom floor to the linens, to the ocean view from the private deck. The staff is welcoming, knowledgeable and willing to take the extra step to make your stay enjoyable. All this right off Ocean Avenue, a great location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I just returned from Carmel following our first visit there in 25 years. We enjoyed the Tally Ho on our first visit and decided to try it again. It was slightly different from our memories because a portion of the inn had been razed and rebuilt it 4 years ago. The new rooms are just beautiful with plenty of room and a great bath with a whirlpool tub large enough for two as well as a beautiful and separate shower. Each room has a small balcony with comfy chairs to enjoy the ocean view. We also looked at 2 of the original rooms and they were as nice or nicer than the new rooms - all with great views of the water. There is no restaurant in the Tally Ho, but room service is available from the sister hotel, The Pine Inn, across the street. The restaurant there is the Il Fornaio. We ate there twice and will go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing