We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Prime Carmel Location with Ocean View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
“Prime Carmel Location with Ocean View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Discover this lovely Inn with traditional style and one of the best locations in downtown Carmel. The nearby beach is just a few blocks away and there is a covered private parking garage. Great on-site service and room service from Il Fornaio across the street is a bonus! We highly recommend the Tally-Ho Inn.

Room Tip: Room 107 is an end unit with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
139
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Tally Hop Inn. We happen to stumble upon this lovely place and had an incredible stay. We spent 3 days here. Upon arrival we we're greeted by Ned he was so helpful about the area and was very a gracious host to say the least. We stayed in 108 which was the icing on the cake for our last few days in California ....loved loved loved it.....we could not have picked a better spot. We could walk to all the shops restaurants and also to the ocean. It's a must stay if you ever want the best of all worlds. Staff was excellent and the service impeccable!
We loved it!

Room Tip: 108 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dame1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Tally Ho on Valentine's Day and we had the best time. Just a few blocks form the beach, you can take a nice stroll, enjoy the views, then get room service from The Il Fornaio just across the street. We love this place and will definatley be coming back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Tally Ho Inn for 2 nights, when we booked there was only one room left. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable, but whereas all the other rooms seemed to have blinds, ours had curtains which we kept closed as anyone walking to other rooms could clearly look right into the room. On the first morning we had breakfast at the Pine Inn across the road, on the second morning at Tally Ho. We preferred the Tally Ho breakfast, but both were fine, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit and pastries. The staff in the office were very friendly, there were hot drinks and fruit available throughout the day, brandy and cheese in the evening. Carmel is a beautiful town and the Tally Ho Inn could not be in a better location. We would definitely stay here again, but request a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved our stay at Tally Ho, we had a beautiful spacious room with a king bed, fireplace, sitting area and balcony with a view of the ocean. Our bathroom was large with a beautiful jacuzzi tub. The front office was always cozy with a roaring fire, with wonderful breakfast complete with oatmeal and lovely cheese and hummus for evening snacks. We are looking forward to returning to the Tally Ho on our next trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere in Carmel and went straight to the Visitor's Information centre.
The lady who helped us was wonderful. She went through the daily offers from local hotels and after looking round a couple the Tally Ho was definitely our favourite and the best value for money with breakfast included. We got a room for almost $70 less than the usual rate. All the rooms with views were taken but the one we had was just perfect. Beautiful big bed, lovely bathroom and very clean.
The staff on the desk were super friendly and gave us a few tips of where to eat that night.
It was a perfect stay.
Breakfast the next morning was across the road at the Pine Inn. We got there late so the food was a little wilted but given we would have paid at least $15 each to eat out somewhere it was value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Tally Ho Inn in October in the double Queen room. It was lovely with lots of space for a family. There was 2 connecting rooms and 2 beautifully upgraded bathrooms, as well as 2- 55 inch flatscreen tv.'s which our kids loved!

The housekeepers kept the bathrooms and rooms spotless, it was the cleanest place I have stayed in! Lovely fireplace sitting area with lots of outdoor flowers and lovely water views from the outdoor decks.

During the week, the rate includes a complete buffet breakfast across the street at their Italian restaurant and we really looked forward to it every morning,. Really good food, the french toast was fantastic.

We loved our stay here, all the front desk reception was fantastic and friendly and very helpful to answer questions about the area. Really nice people!

Do the 17 mile drive, it was lovely! There is a safeway a 5 minute drive out of carmel for cheaper groceries.
Recommend this lovely, charming inn, it was a nice quiet place to enjoy carmel!
We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing