We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Tally Ho and are looking forward to a return trip in Jan. 2014. We already have the room chosen for this next trip!! The staff, outstanding!! Very knowledgeable & friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a queen room and when I arrived, they upgraded us to a double-queen suite. The suite included a sitting/living room and 2 bathrooms. If we had kids, this would have great, but since it was just my wife and I this was more than enough space. Apparently they ran out of single queen rooms.

The rooms needed a little touch up. You can see the wall paper peeling at the bottom. The bathrooms are updated. The main bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was great!

The refergerator was very old and barely cold. Luckly we didn't need it.

They needed to include instructions for the climate control. The rooms were hot due to the shine shining in and I wasn't sure if turning it on help or not in cooling the room.

The breakfast was the worse parth of the stay. Most places have a simple contential breakfast, but they couldn't even call theirs a breakfast. They had a few pieces of packaged pastries that were cut up in very tiny portions. They had a fruit platter and some coffee and juice. Don't expect much if you stay here.

Great location to all the restaruants and beach and it has parking besides the street. Only about 8 spots though. Only about 5 blocks from the beach and half a block from the Ocean street where all the shops and restaruants are.

Don't forgot to bring a flashlight to Carmel. There are no street lights outside of the main street, especially if you want to stroll to the beach at night. It is pitch dark!

Room Tip: If you want better views, get the rooms in the back or better yet, get the second floor rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very comfortable, spacious and relaxed room. We spent two nights there and it was very pleasant. Close to everything in town and to the beach. We also found it a great launching point for Big Sur cruising. Staff was friendly and knowledgable....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenton g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tally Ho Inn has a good location in Carmel but that's about it. The view was of the ocean but a very small view. Beds were not comfortable and room seemed dated. The staff was friendly. However, it just wasn't worth the money for us. Also, we were there on a Saturday night and a wedding across the street was very loud.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arkansastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed a few times at the Tally Ho. The rooms are spacious, include jacuzzi bathtubs, most have really great ocean views and the complimentary morning continental and evening cheese hour are a really nice touch. One of my favorite things about this inn is that it is so centrally located in Carmel: two (or three?) blocks from Carmel beach, and a half-block from the main shopping street and all of it amenities. It's quite affordable for all that it offers. Front desk staff are charming and helpful. There are a few outdoors common areas with seating so you can enjoy fellow guests, the ocean air and the view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights here. We stayed in the suite and as we walked in, our six year old asked if we were staying in a five star hotel! It certainly had the feel of luxury. Our youngest daughter spotted the beds and announced they were for kings and queens. We had 2 bathrooms, one with a large jacuzzi bath, which we all loved. We loved the overall cozy feel of the place - the log fire outside and our living room. The staff were welcoming and the location was fantastic - a five minute stroll down to the beach and just around the corner from the shops of Ocean Avenue. Breakfast across the road in Il Fornaio restaurant was very good, although the same both days, so I guess if you stayed much longer you might get fed up of it! Underground parking was useful and we were offered the chance to leave the car there for another hour or so after check-out, if we so wished, which was kind.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank KatB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The inn is in an excellent location-just blocks from all the shopping and dining that Carmel has to offer and just a little further the other way was Carmel beach which is lovely. Parking was included and that was nice as street parking was mainly limited to 2 hours. The
staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $254 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint B&B located in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Large over-sized rooms with ocean views and private decks. Full American breakfast buffet served Monday-Friday. Continental breakfast served Saturday & Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing