We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Delightful, one-of-a-kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful, one-of-a-kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We chose a Triplex room. From there we could see the sheep, mountains and the ocean. The room was very clean and beautiful, upscale ranch if that makes any sense. We had a fireplace, our own patio overlooking the aformentioned view, whirlpool, very large room, etc. The staff were exceptional, I felt as though they were very well trained and there to really "take care of us." The breakfast was continental, with many options, one of the best we have had. We were within walking distance of downtown Carmel, (if you like to walk.) There was a room where we could use their computer and print out any personal information we needed. I wish we had scheduled two nights here instead of one. Very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubelle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    133
    36
    19
    12
See reviews for
86
238
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

MIssion Ranch is a very quaint and amazing place to stay! We decided to spend less money and stay in one of the rooms in the Main Barn. The rooms are older but still nice. The grounds at the ranch are stunning! We enjoyed a fun night at the bar listening to the piano player sing. Great crowd of regulars who shared lots of great information about what to see in the area!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bp0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Sox Nation
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were headed from SF to Paso Robles, and knew we wanted to stroll around Monterey & Carmel, and then be able to hit coastal route 1 & Big Sur for the next day. Mission Ranch was the perfect stop-over. We arrived in the late afternoon, and checked into one of the bungalows in the Meadow Fourplex. Lovely patio, overlooking the meadow and about 40 grazing sheep. I walked up to the restaurant and got a chilled bottle of white wine and a couple of glasses -- we watched the sun set before heading back to the restaurant for dinner.

Both the accommodations and dinner were very nice. This is a great spot: it's relaxing and cozy. The bed was very comfortable, and the room & bathroom were very clean. The restaurant was busier than I had expected for a Monday evening. Every table was full, and there was a few parties waiting. They don't take reservations, but as a guest, you get perferred seating. Our server was a viery nice young man, eager to please. I had the short ribs and my husband had the prime rib. The food was hot, tasty, and nicely presented. In the restaurant, there is historic photos and info about the property - very interesting, since it's had quite a history since the 1940s.

Breakfast in the AM is served in the guest center at the tennis courts. Complimentary breakkast includes lots of baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc. Nothing particularly delicious, but it was enough to get us started on our way south down the coast.

We enjoyed our time at the ranch, and would definitely stay there again. This is a historic part of Carmel, and the current management presents it as a comfortable, quiet, respite for travelers. It's not a posh or elegant resort, it's more comfort and cozy. Mr. Eastwood has owned the ranch since 1986, so I say thank you for saving it from condo development, and for hanging on to it for all these years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its5pmsomewherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewEngland-Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I found Mission Ranch on Trip Advisor and there were so many nice comments that we decided to stay there. I only stayed one night but wish I had stayed several. It is not your typical hotel. There are several old buildings on the "ranch" that are now very nice accomodations. I praise Clint Eastwood for restoring this picturesque property and not allowing developers to ruin it. The pictures online don't do it justice. From the terrace of the quaint restaurant you overlook the pasture with sheep and the Pacific in the distance - what a view! In July, there were wildflower gardens throughout the ranch - beautiful. There's a piano bar that was great fun and very entertaining. We didn't walk to town as it's a little hike, but it is a short drive. We loved Carmel - lots of shops & restaurants and it is a very classy town. Can't wait to go back to Mission Ranch!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MA-FLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in the Mission Ranch for 2 nights which was perfect, just wished we could have stayed longer. We were drawn to Carmel-by-the-Sea as we knew Clint Eastwood lived there, we wanted to see the attraction of Carmel. We were not disappointed. Its not a typical American town, its so peaceful, laid back and relaxed.

We stayed in the "Farmhouse" which was lovely. We had 2 lovely meals in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the atmosphere in the bar was great.

It has lovely surroundings, its lovely to sit under the patio heaters on the evening and eat your meal.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights during the last week of June. We had a room on the second floor in the "Ranch Triplex". This building contains 3 rooms, 2 rooms on the first floor, and the room we occupied on the second floor. It was very comfortable with a very large room (my guess is 16 x 24) 2 queen beds, The bathroom was also very large with a deep tub and very good shower. The restaurant on site is EXCELLENT. Both the food and the service were some of the best we have had. All the staff were very attentive, but not annoying, as some restaurants can be. My wife and I found the clam chowder about the best we have had, and being native Massachusetts residents we have had alot. If we make it back to these parts, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip2goOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

From Paris, France and after 4 days in SF...we finally landed in Carmel on a Tuesday nigh (8:00pm) and did target on purpose Clint Eastwood place for lodging first. Had no idea about the pricing...positively surprised by the affordability, the right balance between comfort and cozy room (while not being at all bourgeois or snobbish). Finally had diner at the restaurant...another good surprise (but the wine prices...a little bit too much expensive for what is it. But you know we are french so very strict and knowledgable here ;-)

Good spot overall. To be visited

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soulslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing