We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2010

MIssion Ranch is a very quaint and amazing place to stay! We decided to spend less money and stay in one of the rooms in the Main Barn. The rooms are older but still nice. The grounds at the ranch are stunning! We enjoyed a fun night at the bar listening to the piano player sing. Great crowd of regulars who shared lots of great information about what to see in the area!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bp0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were headed from SF to Paso Robles, and knew we wanted to stroll around Monterey & Carmel, and then be able to hit coastal route 1 & Big Sur for the next day. Mission Ranch was the perfect stop-over. We arrived in the late afternoon, and checked into one of the bungalows in the Meadow Fourplex. Lovely patio, overlooking the meadow and about 40 grazing sheep. I walked up to the restaurant and got a chilled bottle of white wine and a couple of glasses -- we watched the sun set before heading back to the restaurant for dinner.

Both the accommodations and dinner were very nice. This is a great spot: it's relaxing and cozy. The bed was very comfortable, and the room & bathroom were very clean. The restaurant was busier than I had expected for a Monday evening. Every table was full, and there was a few parties waiting. They don't take reservations, but as a guest, you get perferred seating. Our server was a viery nice young man, eager to please. I had the short ribs and my husband had the prime rib. The food was hot, tasty, and nicely presented. In the restaurant, there is historic photos and info about the property - very interesting, since it's had quite a history since the 1940s.

Breakfast in the AM is served in the guest center at the tennis courts. Complimentary breakkast includes lots of baked goods, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, etc. Nothing particularly delicious, but it was enough to get us started on our way south down the coast.

We enjoyed our time at the ranch, and would definitely stay there again. This is a historic part of Carmel, and the current management presents it as a comfortable, quiet, respite for travelers. It's not a posh or elegant resort, it's more comfort and cozy. Mr. Eastwood has owned the ranch since 1986, so I say thank you for saving it from condo development, and for hanging on to it for all these years.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its5pmsomewherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I found Mission Ranch on Trip Advisor and there were so many nice comments that we decided to stay there. I only stayed one night but wish I had stayed several. It is not your typical hotel. There are several old buildings on the "ranch" that are now very nice accomodations. I praise Clint Eastwood for restoring this picturesque property and not allowing developers to ruin it. The pictures online don't do it justice. From the terrace of the quaint restaurant you overlook the pasture with sheep and the Pacific in the distance - what a view! In July, there were wildflower gardens throughout the ranch - beautiful. There's a piano bar that was great fun and very entertaining. We didn't walk to town as it's a little hike, but it is a short drive. We loved Carmel - lots of shops & restaurants and it is a very classy town. Can't wait to go back to Mission Ranch!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA-FLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in the Mission Ranch for 2 nights which was perfect, just wished we could have stayed longer. We were drawn to Carmel-by-the-Sea as we knew Clint Eastwood lived there, we wanted to see the attraction of Carmel. We were not disappointed. Its not a typical American town, its so peaceful, laid back and relaxed.

We stayed in the "Farmhouse" which was lovely. We had 2 lovely meals in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the atmosphere in the bar was great.

It has lovely surroundings, its lovely to sit under the patio heaters on the evening and eat your meal.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights during the last week of June. We had a room on the second floor in the "Ranch Triplex". This building contains 3 rooms, 2 rooms on the first floor, and the room we occupied on the second floor. It was very comfortable with a very large room (my guess is 16 x 24) 2 queen beds, The bathroom was also very large with a deep tub and very good shower. The restaurant on site is EXCELLENT. Both the food and the service were some of the best we have had. All the staff were very attentive, but not annoying, as some restaurants can be. My wife and I found the clam chowder about the best we have had, and being native Massachusetts residents we have had alot. If we make it back to these parts, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip2goOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

From Paris, France and after 4 days in SF...we finally landed in Carmel on a Tuesday nigh (8:00pm) and did target on purpose Clint Eastwood place for lodging first. Had no idea about the pricing...positively surprised by the affordability, the right balance between comfort and cozy room (while not being at all bourgeois or snobbish). Finally had diner at the restaurant...another good surprise (but the wine prices...a little bit too much expensive for what is it. But you know we are french so very strict and knowledgable here ;-)

Good spot overall. To be visited

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This place is perfection in Carmel and we would not want to stay anywhere else. We stayed in "The Barn" and the only downside was that it backs up to a school that's loud during school hours. If you can afford it spring for the rooms that overlook the sheep pasture they will be very quiet. The patio is the PERFECT place to relax and have a drink while the sun starts to set. It overlooks the sheep pasture and you can see the waves crashing in the distance. It's a very short walk to Carmel Mission and the Carmel River Beach - both are beautiful. It's also an easy walk to downtown Carmel and I would 100% recommend staying at this little slice of paradise instead of the expensive B&B's you find in downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumbyGully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $110 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing