We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Perfection”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

This place is perfection in Carmel and we would not want to stay anywhere else. We stayed in "The Barn" and the only downside was that it backs up to a school that's loud during school hours. If you can afford it spring for the rooms that overlook the sheep pasture they will be very quiet. The patio is the PERFECT place to relax and have a drink while the sun starts to set. It overlooks the sheep pasture and you can see the waves crashing in the distance. It's a very short walk to Carmel Mission and the Carmel River Beach - both are beautiful. It's also an easy walk to downtown Carmel and I would 100% recommend staying at this little slice of paradise instead of the expensive B&B's you find in downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumbyGully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 542 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

We had a cabin with a porch - very private, with a fireplace. The porch included two rocking chairs and overlooked the sheep meadow and then the ocean and surf just beyond that. It was tucked into a busy neighborhood so at first we were not sure what to expect - but after we arrived, we felt so secluded. We ate dinner twice at the restaurant on site because the food and the service was great. We enjoyed the grounds and walked around quite a few times.

The drives south down the coast to Big Sur, Point Lobas and more were much better than Monterey or Pebble Beach drives - I wanted to spend more time in Big Sur but we were exhausted from shopping in Carmel, visting Point Lobas and left Big Sur for last - should have switched that around.

This is a nice place - but quite pricey. Their service is first class and welcoming and the whole mystic of staying at "Clint's Place" was super.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess_software
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We admit it - we wanted to stay at "Clint's place." It was worth every penny. It's not a budget accomodation; it's a beautiful, peaceful ranch setting set back just a bit from the bay. Sheep in the pasture during the day, and lots of deer between the pasture and the bay at dusk. The room was very spacious, decor and amenities were excellent. Only downside was the jetted tub worked for a short time then stopped.

We ate dinner at the restaurant onsite; excellent food, ambience and service. The complimentary breakfast the next day was just enough; it was very pleasant to sit on the verandah near the tennis courts and enjoy the morning.

Highly, highly recommend this spot for anyone. It's not cheap - but it's SO worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gardenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

They say you shouldn't go back, but we did and the Mission Ranch is just as good as ever. First night was in the Homestead (sister hotel) right in Carmel, and it too was excellent, then moved to Mission Ranch for the rest of the stay.
Rooms are outstanding, staff could not be more helpful, great atmosphere in bar and on the terrace and it is just the best. (infinitely better than the T Pink - accommodation and value - and its also actually in Carmel unlike the T Pink).
Plenty to do - Carmel is a delight, wine tasting up the Carmel Valley, Monterey, and lunch at Pebble Beach looking down the 18th has got to be one of the best bargains around.
Only minor grouse - whoever moved breakfast from the main building to the tennis club - it's wrong! Get it back to where it belongs!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We had a glass of wine and watched sunset from the deck of the dining room. Had already planned to dine elsewhere in Carmel. Great setting, nice ambiance, but server never returned once he brought wine. We had to go inside dining room to pay for wine. Seemed to be lots of staff around and maybe their focus is more on diners.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank sbswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed in room 26 for 2 nights. A beautiful view from our small deck with 2 rocking chairs. Sunday morning we had coffee and pastry on our deck while watching the sheep - relaxing and amusing to watch the antics of a new lamb.
The room was very clean with the decor matching the farmhouse bedroom look.
The bed was comfortable as I have back problems, but didnot affect it those nights.
Sunday brunch was second to not very many. You must try it. Waiters are a little slow but acceptable. Dinner was also very good.
One drawback was a wedding reception each night with music clearly heard until 10:00.
So we slept in.
The TV remote was not working so had to get up to adjust.
Upon checking out I felt the staff would have been a little more friendly and said thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oopsperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We enjoyed our one nightstay here while exploring Big Sur and Point Lobos State Reserve. The restuarant on site served a nice variety of seafood and steak. Our cottage looked out over the bay and the hotels heard of fuzzy sheep. The night was quiet and the fireplace in our room kept us nice and cozy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#22 of 25 in Carmel
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $110 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing