We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well priced in the land of fancy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Charming and well priced in the land of fancy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We paid $300 ish for a basic room looking at the pasture out to the beach...Yes bathroom needs a face lift and yes the carpet and bedding should get updated-but the patio with charming rockers, sheep right outside, and the fireplace are what make it great. The charm the palce exudes is catchy and for an area that specializes in $800 a night average rooms-this one felt worth it! Breakfast in tennis club was fine-other reviewers were harsh-what do you want-this is not Pebble beach! eat some yogurt and get out and walk the neighborhood, see the mission, go to beach and town-charming! Thanks for an easy and fun stay here. Also I left my nightgown by accident (yes the very fancy one I rarely wear) and they called the same day and sent it-normally housekeeping keeps my accidentally left items as nice as this!! I was impressed.

Room Tip: get the room by the tennis court by sheep barn-nice and no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    132
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
233
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We went to the restaurant for drinks (wine and beer) and appetizers and were pleased by the restful sheep grazing off the patio. We could sit there all night! They will not light the heaters for only apps, diners only, but that was ok with me, I understand. We could take up some valuable dining property there~

We just had chips/salsa and some seared ahi, and both were nice - a refill on the chips helped a bit, too.

It is pricey, but it's a treat, and well worth the tranquility - I loved that there was "one" black sheep~

This would be place I would love to stay with my husband- period homes/buildings, that seem like a B & B set up. Rocking chairs are set up on the buildings' verandas, and the huge old trees make it quite a little tucked away treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

As a Travel Agent I had organised a trip to California , starting off in San fransisco and eventually ending up in San Diego and staying at various places on the way , I knew that Clint Eastwood was Mayor for Carmel a few years ago and that he owned a restaurant in Carmel so thought it would be nice to actually go and eat at the Restaurant , I tried to google the Restaurant (Hogs Breath ) to find that actually Clint had sold the Hogs Breath and and bought the Mission ranch as they were planning to build Condos in its place.

I found the website for the Mission Ranch and it was absolutely lovely and decided that we would stay there the only problem was trying to decide which room type we would like to stay in , we eventually opted for the Bunker Cottage which consisted of a little cottage with a wrap around verandah and two rocking chairs on it , two bedrooms and one bathroom and a lounge with spectacular views of Carmel Beach in the distance and the fields with all of the sheep In.

When we arrived it was quite cold and very foggy and their was hardly anyone around and we actually felt quite cold , we checked in and were advised that bunker cottage had its own parking space right outside , we parked the car and went in and it was absolutely lovely , it was one of the oldest buildings on the ranch dating to 1852 , the only downside was that the bar was not open to be able to get a coffee or a drink so we ended up getting back in the car and going in to down town Carmel for something to drink.

When we returned to Mission Ranch we popped to the bar and by this time it was buzzing , we sat there and had a glass of prosseco and watched a gentleman playing the piano which was very good , we booked a table for our meal for 1900 and when we came back the restaurant after having a shower the place was absolutely packed , although it felt cold they had heaters dotted around outside on the patio and we elected to sit outside as we all felt nice and warm .

We all ordered Steaks and they were so tasty , we didn't have room for a sweet but they looked lovely , it was just so peaceful to sit outside with no noise of traffic , we had the impression that it was the in place to eat in Carmel and all we were waiting for is Mr Eastwood to walk in and start playing the piano but unfortunately this time it wasn't meant to be.

It was booked with complimentary coffee and pastries in the Tennis Club House and when we got there it was far more than that , there was orange juice , coffee , Tea, Danish pastries , toast , muffins , fruits yogurt so it was pleasant surprise to set us up before we continued our travels.


I can recommend staying at the Mission Ranch , we only stayed for one night as we were passing through , and there doesn't really appear to be a lot to unless you like playing Tennis but we are so pleased we stayed there.

Thank you mr Eastwood for giving us the Mission Ranch Experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheena1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've stayed at the Mssion Ranch in the Farmhouse, and eat at the restaurant at least four times per month when I'm in Carmel for the July and August events. There's nothing like the Mission Ranch. As an inn, it's charming and warm with wonderful rooms. That it's owned by Clint Eastwood is a big plus! The restaurant is always a great place to go for dinner - in any weather. It overlooks the Bird Sanctuary and Carmel River Beach - a view that can't be beat. The food is good - the menu is relatively heavy with large portions - but you can have an appetizer and salad and enjoy it. Best bar and piano bar in town! The back room of the restaurant is perfect for small dinner parties, and eating on the patio is everyone's favorite - so expect a wait. But it's all worth it - the Mission Ranch is a special place in a town of special places!

Room Tip: A room in the front of the farmhouse with the view, or in the cottages are first choice. Also, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mission Ranch on Memorial Day weekend for my sister-in-laws wedding and it was beautiful. We had a cute main barn room and the views were fantastic from everywhere. We even saw Clint Eastwood and he took a picture with my now brother-in-law who is a Marine. The complimentary breakfast by the tennis courts was just right to start the day. The grounds were well maintained and the staff was great! The wedding was beautiful and everyone complimented my sister-in-law on the venue and food! I would definitely go back and recommend this place to everyone

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank mlinden818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had one of the meadow view rooms. Very pleasant. I would describe the room as rustic yet clean and well maintained. Parking is wonderful! Other places we've stayed at in Carmel have lacked parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were so excited about staying at the Mission Ranch that I thought we might be disappointed by the reality. Not so -- it more than lived up to our expectations and my only issue is that I wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the upstairs room at the Meadow View rooms -- the room was beautiful with a comfortable king size bed, a seating area and best of all, a huge balcony with a view of the meadow and the sheep to the left and a view of the ocean to the right and mountains in between - wow! When we had arrived around 4 p.m. we had asked about having dinner at the Mission Ranch restaurant and we were put on the preferred waiting list for 7 p.m. At exactly 7, we received a call to say that a table was waiting for us and we proceeded to be seated in a great corner table that allowed us to check out the view and to do some great people-watching. What a lively place - and so cozy. All of us enjoyed our meals and the accompanying wine -- was an excellent start to our holiday. On the two mornings we were at the Ranch, we ambled by the meadow to visit with the sheep on our way to the Tennis Courts for breakfast. While nothing fancy, the food was more than adequate and it was a nice way to start our day, sitting in the sunshine out by the courts - the coffee was fabulous and the fruit was very, very fresh and tasty. Only disappointment? We didn't see Clint!!! Would go back tomorrow if I had a chance. Lovely.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the Meadow View suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brontesassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,515 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing