We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place, but with a few reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, but with a few reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I reserved our room for two nights at Mission Ranch based on the TripAdvisor reviews, as well as the high praise this place garners in other travel guides. It is beautifully located facing the south, with Point Lobos on the near horizon and a meadow filled with sheep right next door. The rooms are located in picturesque buildings of modest size, all beautifully appointed. There is a gourmet restaurant on site, so it's not at all necessary to go very far to get an excellent meal. We have very few reservations recommending this place highly. I would easily give it five stars, but for a few things.
First, unfortunately for the hotel, in the 1990's (long after this beautiful establishment came into existence) an elementary school was built right next door. Unfortunately for us, our room (16A) was/is located immediately adjacent to the chain-link fence separating the hotel's property from that of the school. The little patio outside our room, while charming, was ruined by the fact you couldn't really see beyond this chain-link fence (disguised, of course, by vines and plantings, but nevertheless still all-too-close to our room). We were awakened around 8 a.m. by the shouts, cries, chorused (and incessantly repeated) songs of the school kids right next door. I'm sure there are other rooms at this hotel that do not suffer from this problem. Unfortunately, they undoubtedly also cost a whole lot more than our already quite expensive room cost.
Second, both my wife and I thought the mattress on our Texas-King sized bed was way too soft for comfort. Neither of us could move an inch without the entire mattress jiggling like a bowl of jelly. A bit more firmness would have been greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the boundary of the next door elementary school
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    132
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
233
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I went to the Mission Ranch again this last month, as I have the last few years. I complained about the worn out sagging beds last. I was told that the 2 beds last year were just an anomaly, and that beds were replaced regularly, if there was any question. I found the bed this time horrible. It sagged severely, and neither I or my wife could find a comfortable way to sleep that night. I complained to the front desk help. They said that they could do nothing, but that I could fill out the survey. I asked to talk to the manager, or someone that could repond to my complaint. I was told that no one was available. I emailed a letter of complaint, and got no response. I sent it again and got a terse reply "that we are looking into this". No thank you. No refund for the sleepless night. I find this totally unsatisfactory. Go elsewhere, and do not waste the time with a sleepless night, and rude, dismissive, arrogant non-service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Mission Ranch is truly "Country Living" in Quiet, Peaceful Carmel. A former dairy farm, Mission Ranch has been Transformed into beautiful Quest Cottages and Apartments to help you enjoy "The Country", yet close to Carmel shopping, Golf courses and Restaurants. You'll find a Tennis center, Fitness center and Fine Dining in the Superb Restaurant with a view of green pasture land and fabulous Sunsets. We will Return to Mission Ranch.

Phil Scheeler
Orchard Park, New York

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilScheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We loved this place from the moment we drove onto the property. From the fireplaces in the rooms to the rocking chairs on the porches overlooking the sheep filled pasture, you can't go wrong.

We'll stay longer next time!

Room Tip: We loved our cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne' H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Carmel is a charming town and this is a lovely setting. It's a drive to town for dinner but the nightlife is right on the property. The rooms are definitely dated, old furniture and retro bedspreads. It is not a luxury hotel. If you have heavy luggage, don't stay on the tops floors because you'll be carrying everything up the stairs yourself. Still, compared to some of the other hotels we stayed at during this trip, the St Regis, Bernardo's and the Post Ranch Inn, the Mission Ranch was a bargain.
We stayed two nights. The first night we ate in town and stopped by the piano bar based on the comments we read. My husband just happens to have a great voice. I mentioned this to the host and the bartender and they obviously had heard that one before. So we sat at the bar and listened for a while to get the lay of the land. While we were sitting there, a few servers came up to the bartender, disgruntled and complaining about the patrons sitting at their tables. We decided right then that we would not be eating there the next night like we had planned.
It is apparent that the bar is full of regulars who like to have a good time. I did talk my husband into singing and it was so fun. Dozens of screaming tipsy women singing at the top of their lungs. They would not him leave until the bar closed. So proud! Afterward BOTH the bartender and the host pulled me aside and said I wasn't kidding!
The lower level of the meadow view triplex is probably the best room to request. The continental breakfast was a bummer. They do have a restaurant so it would be nice if they served something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Once again we looked at many options for our stay in Carmel so we decided on the Mission Ranch for a few days and then move into downtown ( 12 minutes walk:) ) for a couple of days.
The Mission Ranch is a real joy, we booked one of the Meadowview Fourplex rooms ,39 , facing the meadow with the legendary Mission Ranch sheep. The whole experience here is amazing , we could sit on our deck and observe the meadow with the beach and ocean beyond . Initially we thought we could walk directly to the beach but we were told that there is a bird sanctuary between the ranch and the beach so if you wish to walk then it is a nice stroll around Dolores St and on to 15th which will take you to the beach. We actually walked to Clint's old saloon the Hog's Breath Bar for the early bird and then strolled down Ocean Avenue to the beach and watched a glorious sunset and then carried on back to the Carmel River and up to Mission
Ranch.....The continental breakfast in the tennis club is mediocre so we walked the 12 minutes down Dolores , be careful as there are no sidewalks for most of the way, to the wonderful Tuck Box cafe for breakfast , great eggs Benedict in a fantasy setting!
The wonderful thing about staying here is the access to all the interesting places around Carmel e.g. the Carmel Mission is 5 minutes walk.
We will be back here again!

Room Tip: The Meadowview Fourplex rooms are wonderful , we stayed in room 39 with a deck overlooking the meado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I don't want to mess with Clint Eastwood, and this is his ranch. The buildings are very charming from the outside, but we found them to be very dated on the inside and in need of updating. The sheep meadow with the lagoon in the background is a pretty backdrop. The ranch's bar was hopping with a crowd of older entertainers, and it felt a bit like a regulars' bar. In terms of location, the ranch is on the edge of town. It means you are going to be driving to meals and likely driving to the beach. Next time, we would likely try to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing