We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visual As Well As Emotional Gift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Visual As Well As Emotional Gift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of our favorite places in Carmel to sit and enjoy the view and just relax.if you are lucky the owner Clint Eastwood will stop into the Pub for a drink. He is actually quite nice.

A picture says a thousand words. See my pictures of the pasture view.

Room Tip: Look before you say yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valhala95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    129
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
79
229
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Mission ranch it had such a lovely feel about it .
You can walk into Carmel it is peace personified
It is just out of the main town Carmel,which would take about 20 mins and well worth a visit ,
The bar at the ranch was just great fun all in all I would def go back as I did not spend enough time there
Just loved it .
Will I be back you bet .!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

For a drink, appetizer, dinner or Sunday brunch, this is the place for patio dining. Heat lamps are provided for nights when the fog rolls in, but we were surprised with warm temps. Sheep are grazing in the fields that are dotted with rental cottages and the Carmel River Beach is in the distance.

Oysters, calamari, quesadillas and potato skins are part of the happy hour menu. Try the salmon for a main entree. Gennady plays the piano several nights a week and was the composer for some of Clint Eastwood's movies. The locals sing around the piano after 9:00 p.m. Friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from two nights at the Mission Ranch and loved it. We were there on the first two days of our vacation and really hated to leave when it was time to move on. The Inn is absolutely lovely and extremely comfortable. We stayed in an upstairs room in the Farmhouse, which was small but we knew that in advance and chose it for other reasons. The restaurant and bar at the Inn are among the best and most lively in Carmel. We'd definitely stay here again even though it is a bit out of town. We found that most everything in town closed up so early that we were happy to be heading back to the bar at the Ranch. Our dinner there was the best of the whole vacation. The vibe at the Inn is hard to pin down - it is definitely a high quality spot, but it's more casual comfort than upscale luxury. However, the service was 100% top notch. It felt like staying at a friend's house. We are already thinking about when we can return!

Room Tip: If you are traveling during the summer, check on whether rooms have air conditioning. Our room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Mission Ranch last week and loved it. The setting was gorgeous -- views of Carmel Bay and a meadow with sheep on the grounds -- and peaceful. The ranch is a 10-15 walk into the heart of Carmel. We also loved the continental breakfast and the food in the famous Mission Ranch Restaurant. Though the restaurant doesn't take reservations, guests at the ranch can call ahead and get priority seating. This worked perfectly for us. The room we had was clean and cozy and the housekeeping staff left us bottles of water every night. Finally, the staff were terrific -- attentive and helpful especially when the guests in the room above ours were stomping and making such a racket that we couldn't sleep or relax. One polite phone call from the apologetic staff ensured the problem was resolved. We would love to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This low-key but upscale hotel is several small cottages on a former dairy farm, rescued by Clint Eastwood (who still owns it and often socializes there with friends if he's in town) from condo development. It has a great restaurant, historic bar, lots of locals who frequent the place, charming rooms and a country setting between the breezy ocean and the Carmel Mission.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and you'll be waking up on a school morning, ask not to be next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisane.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Carmel is a very quaint town and is situated along a lovely beach area. The hotel is just too far out of the town centre to walk and so requires a car. It is a short walk to the beach which has a lovely extended walk all along the coastal area where you can admire the local houses. The hotel itself was bigger than we anticipated from the website photos and our room, the Triplex, was adjacent to the local elementary school which meant a very noisy playground right outside the balcony. Not what we expected or wished for. The room itself was large, with 2 queen size beds, and a small lounge area. All quite comfortable but, in all, expensive for what it was. I think we're paying for the name and the area. The breakfast was a bit bizarre as its is served in a small hut down by the tennis court and consists of bagels, muffins, cereal , hard boiled egg and coffee. We enjoyed our stay well enough.

If you go into the town there is a great wine bar called Bar Napoli which has a fire and great pizza. Try the Silvestri Pinot Noir from Carmel Valley. HOWEVER don't get conned into paying corkage on top of the price of the wine as we did. We have subsequently been told this was a ripoff by other restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores Street, Carmel, CA 93923
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing