We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TIRED,TIRED,TIRED !!!”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Lovely setting and historic bulidings marred by inattention to detail and extraordinarily poor maintenance.No bell service,restaurant charges to room not allowed,leaking toilet,limited hot water,dated uncomfortable furnishing,cheap linens,non-existent art work,tiny TV and general inattention to detail at this hostoric property.Would never return unless appropriate attention to detail and renovation takes place.VERY tired property.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to suffer the same problem--dated and tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carolinaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 538 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

we spent a weekend at the honeymoon cottage and can't wait to return. the staff was lovely and the rooms were comfortable. the continental breakfast was a perc and included yoghurt and fresh fruit along with the usual cereal and juice. the only thing I would change would be the coffemaker in the room - time to upgrade!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice place. We stayed in the main house bootom floor room on the right as you go in.Very clean, comfortable with a nice lounge area outside our room. Excellent restaraunt. Lots of sheep and critters in the fields. Unmatched scenery. You can see Pebble beach from there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I understand it is owned by Clint Eastwood. He apparently bought the property to save it from commercial development, and kept all the original buildings Converted the buildings (farmhouse, barn, etc.) to suites. We stayed in the Meadowview Triplex. Very quaint quiet and picturesque. Our room was large and comfortable, well appointed. A bit on the high side for price, but worth it for a treat. Excellent restaurant.

We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, just like our other favorite the moonstone beach motel, right on the beach up in Moclips, WA. We will defineately return. The resturant, while crowded (wait in the bar) if wonderful. We had our dinner time out on the patio, service was a bit slow, because of the crowd. The patio is pleasant, but do not exspect a quiet romantic supper, as it is quite loud.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachcomberJAY013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mission Ranch for a night at my friend's recommendation. It was quite pricey but the room had more soul than any other place we had stayed in on our week long California vacation. Clint Eastwood had it restored to its original state, which is what gives it charm and beauty, and if there was ocean access, it would have been absolutely perfect. I should also mention that it was immaculately clean.
To top the experience off we actually got to see Clint Eastwood live at his restaurant !!! Yay. Being Canadian we didn't want to both him but I wish I had said "Hello" as he was right beside me : ))

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for one night in the barn, nice room with a great bed. We were planning to eat in the restaurant but were put off by a fairly disinterested female at the front of house service. Also there were no prices on any menus prior to being seated which was off putting. We experienced another rather disinterested young member of staff in the breakfast area who was more interested in watching the tv than greeting people as they entered for breakfast. The main reception staff were very good and the others could learn from there professional.
Overall the place lacked atmosphere which was a shame as the setting was stunning.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $110 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing