We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice place. We stayed in the main house bootom floor room on the right as you go in.Very clean, comfortable with a nice lounge area outside our room. Excellent restaraunt. Lots of sheep and critters in the fields. Unmatched scenery. You can see Pebble beach from there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    133
    36
    19
    12
See reviews for
86
238
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I understand it is owned by Clint Eastwood. He apparently bought the property to save it from commercial development, and kept all the original buildings Converted the buildings (farmhouse, barn, etc.) to suites. We stayed in the Meadowview Triplex. Very quaint quiet and picturesque. Our room was large and comfortable, well appointed. A bit on the high side for price, but worth it for a treat. Excellent restaurant.

We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, just like our other favorite the moonstone beach motel, right on the beach up in Moclips, WA. We will defineately return. The resturant, while crowded (wait in the bar) if wonderful. We had our dinner time out on the patio, service was a bit slow, because of the crowd. The patio is pleasant, but do not exspect a quiet romantic supper, as it is quite loud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachcomberJAY013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mission Ranch for a night at my friend's recommendation. It was quite pricey but the room had more soul than any other place we had stayed in on our week long California vacation. Clint Eastwood had it restored to its original state, which is what gives it charm and beauty, and if there was ocean access, it would have been absolutely perfect. I should also mention that it was immaculately clean.
To top the experience off we actually got to see Clint Eastwood live at his restaurant !!! Yay. Being Canadian we didn't want to both him but I wish I had said "Hello" as he was right beside me : ))

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the barn, nice room with a great bed. We were planning to eat in the restaurant but were put off by a fairly disinterested female at the front of house service. Also there were no prices on any menus prior to being seated which was off putting. We experienced another rather disinterested young member of staff in the breakfast area who was more interested in watching the tv than greeting people as they entered for breakfast. The main reception staff were very good and the others could learn from there professional.
Overall the place lacked atmosphere which was a shame as the setting was stunning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had such a wonderful Carmel vacation due to our stay at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch. The room has a very relaxed, homey feel with reasonable rates. The grounds are green with mature landscaping and have a mountain, meadow and ocean views. We enjoyed the view while eating a yummy meal on their outdoor dining area. After our meal we walked and viewed the quaint cottages, world famous Carmel Beach and shopped. I recommend you make this your next trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonbuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

spent four nights at Mission Ranch. Parking is difficult. Room is antique. No air conditioning, screens on windows not efficient...flies Housecleaning did not get to the room till after 1400 on two days. Great restaurant, great ;piano bar. Lovely part of the world, big Sur and Carmel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwdbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing