We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it, but weather too cool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Save
You added Mission Ranch to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it, but weather too cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just spent a beautiful week in Carmel, CA at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch. Accommodations were wonderful having a beautiful room with fireplace right by the sheep meadow! Thirty-five sheep were right by our deck! Highlight of this place was the great piano bar at night with the fantastic local singers popping in to sing along with the super talented piano players. Great talent! It was sad that Clint was a no show when we were there, as we were told he can play a mean piano! Also loved seeing the truck from "The Bridges of Madison County" there as well as the Ford Crown Victoria from "Dirty Harry"! The restaurant was really good as well. We enjoyed walking all around Carmel (which is gorgeous) and seeing the old Mission Church. The only regret was the cool weather we had, otherwise, it was throughly enjoyed if you want a quiet time away.

Room Tip: Best location would be the room we had in the fourplex by the sheep meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    132
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
83
233
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Unusual, comfortable country-style lodging in several farm buildings on the ranch. Great views (if it's not misty) and great value for the quality of the rooms. Our room was in the farmhouse, just off a communal lounge with its own grand piano. The only disadvantage of that was we could hear others talking in the lounge from our room. It wasn't a problem for us, but I imagine it could be if the other guests were noisier or later returning to their accommodation. The farm theme continues in the furnishing of the rooms - we had an old-fashioned rocking chair - so the overall appearance is much more of staying in someone's house than in a standardised hotel.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, get a room in one of the cottages where you're on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MmeCastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010 for a couple of reasons. We wanted to drive Big Sur, this place was affordable, and well, it's Clint's. We were going to be swinging through town the day after his 80th birthday and crossed our fingers.
We were not disappointed. The property was amazing. We booked a table on the Restaurant's terrace our first night there. While we were enjoying our wonderful meal, Mr. Eastwood showed up and walked by our table, through the patio, down to the sheep barn and wrangled his sheep into their pens for the night while us guests watched. Yes he still looks just that good even at 80. Later, we went into the cute bar to hear some old jazz favorites. Couldn't ask for a better night!
Also, the free breakfast, which we were able to take and eat on the lawn right by the woolly sheep pasture was so peaceful and beautiful. This is living. The staff were so helpful and sweet. They really seem to love their jobs -- wouldn't you? Our waiter told us Clint shows up fairly often!
Stop by the main office for some one-of-a-kind souvenirs!
One thing I would add, the wireless internet was a little inconvenient (only in the meeting room at the corner of the property. The decor was a bit dowdy (we stayed in the main barn). And it is directly beside an elementary school so it can be a little loud on weekdays. But really? These issues are not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were fortunate to get a last minute reservation at the Mission Ranch and a lovely room in the 'farm house'. We highly recommend the ranch and the restaurant.... always busy with a very nice Sunday Jazz Brunch. The only thing that would have made this visit better was if Clint himself had showed up to tinkle the ivories. Carmel in general was our favourite destination on this drive down the coast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed a Clint's Ranch because we were attending a wedding. This was an outstanding place to have a wedding. The location of the property is a stones throw away from downtown in a lovely area with rolling green grass and water views. The reception hall was absolutely perfect for a wedding of 100. The food was good and the staff handling the wedding was amazing. If you are planning a wedding, I would truly consider this location.

As far as the lodging, we stayed in the meadow triplex. The size of the room was rather large. However, the smell of the room was musty and could have used updating. The bed was on the firm side. Although it was nice to stay in a place that had all the charm of Grandma's house, it seemed a bit overpriced. We were also obligated to book a 2 night stay. I would have felt better about paying the price if a full breakfast was included. On a positive note, the grounds are pristine and a true visual delight. However, for us it most likely will be a one time visit unless we get a wedding invitation.

My rating for the wedding reception hall and landscape is a solid 4. However, for the room is a 3.5. Added note: Go to Bruno's market to get a pizza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dempseybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Thanks Clint for preserving this place. Truly beautiful, a great get-away fr the crowds in downtown Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We rented for three nights the top of a meadow view triplex with a fireplace and view of the water beyond a bucolic meadow. The room was huge, as was the bathroom. The TV was old-fashioned, but we didn't care. The king bed was very comfortable, too. Though we spent big bucks, this place was worth every penny. We were next door to the restaurant so we got take-out and sat on our balcony the first evening. The next night, we ate a wonderful meal at the Flying Fish Restaurant in Carmel. Try the abalone and the prawns. We will definitely be back to Mission Ranch on our next trip to Carmel.

Room Tip: top floor with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing