We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot, highlight of our tip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot, highlight of our tip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010 for a couple of reasons. We wanted to drive Big Sur, this place was affordable, and well, it's Clint's. We were going to be swinging through town the day after his 80th birthday and crossed our fingers.
We were not disappointed. The property was amazing. We booked a table on the Restaurant's terrace our first night there. While we were enjoying our wonderful meal, Mr. Eastwood showed up and walked by our table, through the patio, down to the sheep barn and wrangled his sheep into their pens for the night while us guests watched. Yes he still looks just that good even at 80. Later, we went into the cute bar to hear some old jazz favorites. Couldn't ask for a better night!
Also, the free breakfast, which we were able to take and eat on the lawn right by the woolly sheep pasture was so peaceful and beautiful. This is living. The staff were so helpful and sweet. They really seem to love their jobs -- wouldn't you? Our waiter told us Clint shows up fairly often!
Stop by the main office for some one-of-a-kind souvenirs!
One thing I would add, the wireless internet was a little inconvenient (only in the meeting room at the corner of the property. The decor was a bit dowdy (we stayed in the main barn). And it is directly beside an elementary school so it can be a little loud on weekdays. But really? These issues are not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    140
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
91
256
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were fortunate to get a last minute reservation at the Mission Ranch and a lovely room in the 'farm house'. We highly recommend the ranch and the restaurant.... always busy with a very nice Sunday Jazz Brunch. The only thing that would have made this visit better was if Clint himself had showed up to tinkle the ivories. Carmel in general was our favourite destination on this drive down the coast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed a Clint's Ranch because we were attending a wedding. This was an outstanding place to have a wedding. The location of the property is a stones throw away from downtown in a lovely area with rolling green grass and water views. The reception hall was absolutely perfect for a wedding of 100. The food was good and the staff handling the wedding was amazing. If you are planning a wedding, I would truly consider this location.

As far as the lodging, we stayed in the meadow triplex. The size of the room was rather large. However, the smell of the room was musty and could have used updating. The bed was on the firm side. Although it was nice to stay in a place that had all the charm of Grandma's house, it seemed a bit overpriced. We were also obligated to book a 2 night stay. I would have felt better about paying the price if a full breakfast was included. On a positive note, the grounds are pristine and a true visual delight. However, for us it most likely will be a one time visit unless we get a wedding invitation.

My rating for the wedding reception hall and landscape is a solid 4. However, for the room is a 3.5. Added note: Go to Bruno's market to get a pizza.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dempseybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Thanks Clint for preserving this place. Truly beautiful, a great get-away fr the crowds in downtown Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We rented for three nights the top of a meadow view triplex with a fireplace and view of the water beyond a bucolic meadow. The room was huge, as was the bathroom. The TV was old-fashioned, but we didn't care. The king bed was very comfortable, too. Though we spent big bucks, this place was worth every penny. We were next door to the restaurant so we got take-out and sat on our balcony the first evening. The next night, we ate a wonderful meal at the Flying Fish Restaurant in Carmel. Try the abalone and the prawns. We will definitely be back to Mission Ranch on our next trip to Carmel.

Room Tip: top floor with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Do not get room 28 - it's a handicapped room - smells, dark, depressing. I was given another (more expensive) room. The sliding glass door in that room did not lock until I had them fix it. It's very cute when you drive in, quiet, but I think it is very outdated and not well maintained. I won't be back. Had Internet service but my iPad couldnt pick up wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margob1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The allure of the Mission Ranch is its location and its rescue by Clint Eastwood. The location is both quiet and beautiful - on the south side of Carmel, isolated from the activity of the town. One can gaze onto the Pacific from any number of vantage points. Of course, the heard of sheep provide a sense of serenity. To be honest, the rooms could stand to be upgraded. For the money, the Mission Ranch is a good value for Carmel, but I expected a bit more. Our room was large, but the fixtures - beds, chairs, bath - were a bit dated. A continental breakfast is included and is served at the Tennis Club. This was OK with us and the food selection was pretty good for a B&B type of establishment. By far, the hit of this property is the piano bar. The bar is frequented by locals from Carmel. When my wife and I went for a drink, I didn't think there were any guests from the B&B in attendance. The piano bar was dominated by locals who took turns singing their favorite songs. They were a hoot and really good singers! My wife and I felt fortunate to make an evening of this entertainment during one night of our stay. Bravo to Clint to provide a venue for his friends and Carmel residents to enjoy each others great company.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Man-Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing