We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay in Carmel”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay in Carmel”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights. Overall we would say this is a very nice inn and would recommend it to others staying in Carmel. The staff is very professional and helpful and Cathy (Mgr.) is a wealth if info about the local area.

The room was quite large and very clean with a vaulted ceiling which makes it appear larger. Very nice ammenities including wine and cheese, etc. after 5 PM and a minimal breadfast brought to your room at a time of your choosing in the morning. It's nothing special, but certainly adequate if you're not a big breakfast eater.

The only negatives I will mention is the bed, which was not up to our standards considering the room charge per night. It was not at all comfortable for us, but then we sleep on a Dux bed at home and we're probably spoiled because of it. That alone would certainly not stop us from staying here again and we have slept on many beds that have been much worse during our travels. But we think they should be upgraded nevertheless along with the TV (it worked fine) that should be a little larger and flat screen for an upscale property in Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    51
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
207
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The accommodations are pretty average for the price but very clean. There don't seem to be any units with a view and the location has about the same proximity to downtown Carmel as many other inns in the area. The extras are nice - coffee maker, snacks, soft drinks, water and juices are complimentary and replenished daily. Newspaper and light breakfast are brought to your room although there are so many great breakfast places in town (Katy's Place) that you may as well go out. The TV is very small but there is cable, DVD's, CD player and WiFi, again all complimentary. There's wine and cheese in the lobby between 5-6 daily. I do think the rates are a little high so next time I would shop around before deciding to book here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyliemb
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We took a weekend to get away from the city, and this was the perfect place for it. The room was beautiful, with a huge bed, cozy fireplace, and fantastic giant whirlpool bath. The service was also excellent (a special thank you to Terry in particular)....they were kind enough to make reservations at a truly spectacular restaurant for us, and even gave us champagne on the house. I can't say enough good things about this place; we had a great time and made some unforgettable memories.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Three employees I would like to mention that make our stay so enjoyable; Robert, Tery and Kathy. They are fantastic employees and really represent the carriage house in a very professional yet friendly way. We stay there at least three times per year and it's especially inviting due to Tery and Kathy . They are an awesome team and deserve recognition for their great job performances. Robert is newer and we dont know him as wel but hisperformance is also superb.
THANK YOU FOR SUCH A GREAT WEEK ALL THREE OF YOU. GOD BLESS!
BRECK AND JULIE MILLER

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank punkydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The staff at the Carriage House Inn went above and beyond to make my son's honeymoon a fantastic experience. They provided complimentary champagne, cake, tickets to the Monterey Aquarium. The room was very large and nicely decorated. It was in the perfect location-walking distance to shops and restaurants and had easy parking. Each morning, they were able to select from a nice choice of items for breakfast which was personally delivered right to their suite. My husband and I had made the honeymoon arrangements at the last minute for our son as their "all inclusive" honeymoon we had paid for was cancelled due to the swine flu scare. The people at the Carriage House Inn went out of their way to make sure that the experience our children had on their honeymoon was even better than if they had gone to Mexico. I can't tell you how happy I was to hear about their experiences and certainly will stay there ourselves when we visit Carmel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPARKLELasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Lovely reception and service. The property (in and out) is dated. The breakfasts are soso. We couldn't get in where we wanted and they were rated the same as the place we usually stay. I beg to disagree.

There were some sort of bug remains under the table in the room. Flying ants or wasps. It was a buzz kill.

We checked out early.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — insects
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomfinn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsbytheSea, Guest Relations Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Thank you for selecting the Carriage House Inn for your recent stay in Carmel.
We sincerely apologize for your less-than-perfect accommodations and the apparent bugs under the table in your room. We take your comments seriously and have addressed these issues with our housekeeping staff.

Regarding the dated appearance of the inn, we are pleased to report that the Carriage House Inn is currently undergoing a complete renovation of the entire property. We have just finished painting the building exterior and anticipate the guest room improvements to be completed within the next six months.

We hope you will choose to return to the Carriage House Inn, or one of our other coastal properties, and allow us another opportunity to display our accommodations and personal service.

Best regards,

Chris Paim
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We regetted having only one night in Carmel...we didn't want to leave the room! The champagne and chocolates, the comfy bed,vaulted ceilings, gas fireplace, window seat, CD player pre-loaded with lovely relaxing music...wow!
We had arrived to a warm welcome of wine and cheese in the lobby area and the very personable Terry and a chance to chat with some fellow guests. Went for dinner, returned to our turned down bed, placed our breakfast order which was delivered promptly in the morning and was delicious. Overall had a wonderful experience. The Carriage House is a cross between an Inn and a B&B, it was perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeeinbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 26 in Carmel
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing