We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$739
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
$739
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$739
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
sparky791
Central Illinois
Great Location
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 27, 2017
Stayed five nights as base camp to Carmel/Monterrey area. Loved the parking although tight but manageable. Great breakfast every morning to start day. Rooms were nice but just a tad showing age. Overall a very nice stay.
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$371
  • Tripadvisor
    $344
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $299
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
$346
  • Tripadvisor
    $346
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
    $346
0.4 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$269
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $229
  • Agoda.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $269
1.1 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$366
  • Hotels.com
    $428
  • Skyscanner.com
    $297
  • Expedia.com
    $428
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Hyatt.com
$549
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $404
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
$479
    3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior
    Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • Agoda.com
      $275
    • Hotels.com
      $338
    0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
      $343
    • Expedia.com
      $359
    1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      $298
    • Skyscanner.com
    0.4 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Carmel
    Reviews (648)
    Filter reviews
    648 results
    Traveler rating
    538
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    538
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews quiche charcuterie tray vaulted ceilings wine and cheese each morning complimentary snacks breakfast delivered to the room each evening carmel plaza other guests within walking distance beautiful room carmel by the sea a wonderful stay cookies a nice touch quiet location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    382 - 387 of 648 reviews
    Reviewed July 26, 2017

    Like most Carmel accommodations, it's considerably overpriced. The room was well appointed and comfortable - but the outer bed coverings seemed like they hadn't' been cleaned in awhile. A light continental breakfast is brought to the room; it's nothing memorable, but not unpleasant.

    Two notes of caution: 1/ the parking is tight. If you have a large car or SUV, you have to maneuver skillfully to park in some of their spaces. 2/ the bathtub is unusually high. If you have a little difficulty getting in and out of the tub, this wouldn't be the place for you.

    The staff was friendly and efficient. We've returned the place and might do so again, even though it's hard to feel you're getting your money's worth.

    Date of stay: July 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank widelenser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. The customers' insight is the best explanation of benefits and amenities there is! We apologize for any discernable dust you may have observed on the bedding. Our duvet covers and shams are changed between each check out guest, and in between on the request of the in-house guest. We pride ourselves on our breakfast offerings, and would welcome any suggestions that you have on making it better.
    We completely agree with your two points 1) the parking is tight. There are spaces that are only suitable for a smaller vehicle, but it's nice for us to be able to offer parking at all, as some Inns in Carmel have limited, or none at all. 2) The tub/shower enclosures are tall. When our most recent remodel was done, the old tubs were replaced with the latest in soaking, air bubble tubs, which allow for a deep, soaking experience. Although there are grab bars on the wall and one door, we completely agree that an additional grab bar would be helpful.
    As far as the value for price, there are a number of hotels in Carmel that are considerably more expensive than we are, which are not four diamond AAA properties. We feel the amenities and level of customer service is what sets us apart.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

    This is a very quaint inn and we loved the decor and hospitality! The rooms are as pictured.
    We would certainly consider returning. My only complaint is the towels. We asked the cleaning lady for more since we had a 3 year old with us - she assured us she would leave some but didn't. And we didn't realize until after my 3 yr old was bathed which caused me major irritation. They offer continental breakfast which is hard if you are not eating carbs/sugar.
    Other than that, we would consider staying there again and I'll just be more assertive on the towels. It's located at the beginning of town and a 10min walk to beach. We were able to walk to dinner in the evening which was nice.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Traveled with family
    Thank S W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

    Dear Sheryl,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Our sincere apologies for the towels, our housekeepers are usually right on top of those types of requests. When making your next reservations, you may certainly request those in advance, should you need them.
    We are making some decisions regarding our breakfast, as far as changing it up a bit. Should you wish to make some suggestions of what you would like to see, we'd be happy to hear. We do have the quiche available, which is protein, but certainly understand your feelings regarding the other offerings.
    We appreciate your comments regarding our location and the fact that we have all off street parking.
    We will look forward to your next visit.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 13, 2017

    What a gem! We arrived during the evening happy hour to find a lovely spread of cheese, fruit, other nibbles and wine. Our room was beautiful with a lovely sitting room off of a spacious bedroom. The bathroom was small but exceptionally clean. The morning breakfast was such a treat, a good selection of items available. Highly recommend the quiche - it is outstanding! This will definitely be our hotel of choice when we visit Carmel.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Brian T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

    Dear Brian,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such a nice review.
    We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the lovely amenities we have to offer.
    We hope that you will consider the Carriage House Inn on your next visit to the central coast.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

    Definitely our new favorite in Carmel! Our room was beyond cozy, high ceilings, fireplace, classy shutters and a super comfortable bed are just a few of the highlights we enjoyed. The staff is beyond helpful, in fact they personally serve a wonderful breakfast to the room.
    The often mentioned 5pm wine and hors doeuvre is nice although we were the only guests attending.
    Can't wait to go back and stay a few days longer...

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank George E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

    Dear Yuerg,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such a nice review. We appreciate your mentioning all the amenities we have to offer. Your kind comments of the staff were greatly appreciated. The Happy Hour is a fun time, great for getting together with other guests, comparing notes on sightseeing and restaurants.
    We will look forward to your next stay with us.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

    Amazing stay! Clean, quiet, romantic, great service, great location, incredibly well decorated, delicious breakfast in the room! A little pricy but just like everywhere else in Carmel!
    Loved everything! Would definitely stay again!

    Date of stay: May 2017
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank Suellennnl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

    Dear Suellennl,
    Thank you for staying with and for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We appreciate the high marks and will continue to strive to make our guests' experience the best that it can be.
    We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to the Central Coast.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews