We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$739
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 23
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$739
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
538
72
29
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
538
72
29
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche charcuterie tray vaulted ceilings wine and cheese each morning complimentary snacks breakfast delivered to the room each evening carmel plaza other guests within walking distance beautiful room carmel by the sea a wonderful stay cookies a nice touch quiet location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 648 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017

This hotel is clean, quiet, quaint, friendly - first time in Carmel and could not ask for a nicer staff or better accommodations. So peaceful and friendly here. Had a robe waiting for me and have never felt such soft towels in my life. Breakfast was an unexpected bonus. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Dear Denise,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such a nice review, we appreciate all the kind comments. The towels are new, so glad you enjoyed them! Our staff appreciates being singled out, they do try very hard. Our breakfast being delivered to the rooms allows our guests a little extra special time in the morning. And of course, we have parking, always a plus in Carmel!
We hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Perfect location in the heart of Carmel. Spotless and quiet rooms benefitting from recent renovations. Staff is pleasant and helpful. What's needed is that extra something that moves this to a really exemplary experience...maybe flowers in the room...some special goodies from Carmel itself (not just bagged snacks). Breakfast was suprisingly good and brought promptly to our room...good job! Parking is tight but good for Carmel. Rooms are spacious and have nice views.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms have nice views with car park under
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. We appreciate that you mentioned the staff, I know we all try to make each guest's experience the best that it can be. Thank you also for the suggestions of how to upgrade our services even more. We do provide fresh flowers on the breakfast trays in the morning, however a snack that is indicative or made in Carmel is an intriguing idea.
Hope to see you again,
Best wishes, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

Beautifully appointed rooms with very comfortable beds...Very clean and upgraded bathrooms.

Having a breakfast delivered to our room was such a nice luxury! They have a lovely late afternoon wine, cheese, veggies, and treats social set up in the front office. It was the perfect way to tide us over from lunch until dinner, and there were enough options that everyone was satisfied.

The back staircase to Mission Street made it quick and easy to walk into the shopping, beach, or residential areas.

It was nice to be able to park our car on the Inn's property.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertadP5843HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear Robert,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed not only the daily delivery of breakfast, but also the afternoon wine and cheese social. We find that it is a great opportunity for guests to share with others not only dining suggestions, but sightseeing ones as well.
Our location is so central that it is convenient to park and walk the whole time of your stay. We are fortunate that we have enough off street parking for each of our rooms.
We hope that you will continue to think of us and will consider us for your next trip to the west coast.
Best wishes, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We like this place with it's good location , good service, good breakfast, and nice furnishings and have been customers for a number of years.
We commented after their remodeling last year , that the bathroom needed towel rails on which to put wet towels and/or clothes. These are inexpensive, but still have not been installed, so towels have to be thrown on the floor, rather than being reused!
The WiFi is very weak and cuts out from time to time. You also have to re-sign in , for no apparent reason, sometimes in the middle of composing.
The heating system works well, as does the TV.

Room tip: Beware of busy woodpecker waking you at 7AM , Room 11 !
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for the woodpecker, he/she comes and goes. We have a lot of trees in Carmel, hence a lot of birds, we wish, as you do, that they would not confuse our building with a tree!
We appreciate your comments regarding the towel bars. Our hope was that once the robes hung there were in use, the hooks could be utilized for the towels. The situation with the WiFi, having to re-sign in after connecting, is a safety measure to protect your privacy. We've never had the complaint that it occurred during composing, and for that we apologize.
We appreciate your mentioning all the good things; location, service, breakfast and ambiance. We hope that you will continue to consider the Carriage House Inn as your home away from home when visiting Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Stayed for one night driving through and it was absolutely amazing. The room felt like a mini cottage with the fireplace and high ceilings. The towels were so soft and wonderful, the sheets were super soft and the pillows were just amazing. Breakfast is included and is delivered to your room. Warm pastries, quiche, coffee and juice. Can't say enough great things about this place. I'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sawa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review! We just switched to those new towels and are glad to see that they're noticed and already making an impact. We always appreciate guest feedback and view it as a way to stay on top of things and make changes quickly when needed.
Now that you've found us, we hope that you will return soon and often!
Best wishes, Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews