We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little gem. Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A little gem. Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a charming small hotel. The bedroom we had, on the ground floor down a few steps, was beautifully done and far exceeded expectations. Very comfortable bed. Even a fire in the room should you need it. Very good location near centre of town. Parking on site. Very friendly and helpful staff. A really nice touch is the cocktail hour each evening where guests can have free drinks and nibbles. A great idea - all the guests ended up chatting away and that meant there was a very good atmosphere. The only slight downside is that the breakfast is served in your room and there is not much choice. Other than that, if you are not set on staying in a four or five star hotel, then I recommend this little gem. Sensible price. Had a very good stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    47
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
180
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Even thought French toile is NOT our preferred style, our charming room at the Coachman's Inn was something different and we thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The mattress was pillow-soft; again not usual for us, but it was surprisingly comfortable and it might make me re-think the softness factor when it is time for us to get a new one at home. With the fireplace on, the room was cozy. The welcome to the Inn was most cordial, we enjoyed ordering breakfast and having it delivered -- the muffins were a high point, and at the evening reception it was pleasant to visit and chat with other guests while having a glass of wine and some cheese. We also took advantage of the later-in the-evening cookies and a small glass of sherry sedative! This Inn is convenient to shopping, the scenic walk, the mission, and to good restaurants. The Inn has partnerships with many of the restaurants where guests can take advantage of a discount. I would recommend this lovely little spot in beautiful Carmel by the Sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kt2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Carriage House in July 2013. The accommadations were fabulous, we had a comfortable king bed, a working gas fireplace (which was needed because it's a little chilly in Carmel in July!) and plenty of room. The breakfast each morning was delicious. The staff was more than helpful, friendly, and recommended outstanding places to eat and sites to see. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashableu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located in the village of Carmel, it is close to many of the shops and restaurants, and not far from the beach. The hotel, some may find, is a bit tricky to get to. The front desk is staffed by very friendly and helpful people. Every evening there is free wine and cheese at the reception, where helpful ideas on dining can be provided. We were please with our room with a fireplace, and breakfast is included. And the price of our stay was very reasonable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Misty and the rest of the staff definitely go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. There was always a treat waiting in the lobby whether it was cookies and coffee or muffins or wine and cheese along with great recommendations by the staff. We stayed in room 11 which has the Ralph Lauren theme. It has two big leather chairs which is great for reading. The quiche for breakfast was yummy and always delivered right on time. And it is a great location just a block from Ocean ave where all the galleries and restaurants are.

Room Tip: Room 11 has 2 comfortable leather chairs and ottomans great for reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbyrae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The management of the best hotels is discreet... Almost invisible. The proof of quality is in the detail. Things are never 'just so' by accident. Someone makes it so.

This seems to be a hotel with absentee management. The fairly junior staff meet and greet impeccably. The rooms are huge and well furnished, if a little tired. Ours was rather gloomy, but others are brighter. But things do not quite work as they should. The shower curtain rail fell (held in place only by friction and hope) fell down. Bathroom dark and bizarre in design. Breakfast was very poor. Cheap orange juice, disgusting greasy flat reheated croissants, soggy packet muffins, poor quality granola, cold weak coffee. The only fruit was banana (in California with soft fruit growing all over the place). Breakfast is only served in the room, but there is only one erect chair that can be brought up to the table. These are not unpardonable issues, but illustrate poor attention to detail. And this was by far the worst breakfast in our 18 days in California.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns by the Sea C, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take this feedback seriously and while we're pleased to hear that your arrival at our inn was impeccable, we are disappointed that the entirety of your stay didn't live up to the standards we strive to achieve. We are very proud of our many positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and wish we had been given the opportunity to correct the issues you have posted here, and perhaps made a positive difference to your experience with us.

We apologize for the challenges you encountered in your room. We do offer several different room types and I'm happy to say that we're in the midst of renovating and updating, having just completed 1/3 of our rooms prior to the summer months. While our cozy lobby space precludes us from offering a Continental Breakfast dining space, our guestrooms are equipped with a sizable table and two arm chairs. An additional desk and chair will be found in each room. This is usually quite comfortable, however, we are happy to accommodate guest requests for a different arrangement.

We are most disappointed to hear of our performance with your breakfast. Our Continental Breakfast menu offers a variety of items including Organic Peerless Coffee, Odwalla Orange Juice, yogurts, cereals, and freshly baked quiche and croissants. We pride ourselves in offering a delicious hot continental breakfast. We would have been happy to remake your breakfast for you had we been informed, but we agree it is our responsibility to control the quality that comes out of the kitchen. This has been reviewed with my staff, and I will personally ensure this is rectified.

Further, I invite you to contact me directly to share your description of “absentee management”, so I may learn how we might have made such a negative impression. I work full-time at the Carriage House Inn, and am available at the pleasure of our guests almost every day. I hope to hear back from you on this point to better understand your meaning.

Lastly, we appreciate every opportunity to improve our service. We agree that attention to detail is of paramount importance, and we will redouble our efforts in this regard. It is our hope that we might welcome you back in the future so we can demonstrate for you what many other satisfied guests have experienced at the Carriage House Inn.

Sincerely,

Misty Wenisch
Inn Manager
Carriage House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for one night in beautiful Carmel, wish it could have been longer. The Carriage House was an excellent choice. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Drinks and nibbles in reception a nice touch. Rooms massive with 'log' fires. Very tastefully decorated and a really warm feel to them. Beautiful bed and linens. Breakfast served in your room. You select from a menu the night before and pick a time. Served on the dot and delicious. All adds up to a first class stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing