We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Didn't want to leave the room!”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Didn't want to leave the room!”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We regetted having only one night in Carmel...we didn't want to leave the room! The champagne and chocolates, the comfy bed,vaulted ceilings, gas fireplace, window seat, CD player pre-loaded with lovely relaxing music...wow!
We had arrived to a warm welcome of wine and cheese in the lobby area and the very personable Terry and a chance to chat with some fellow guests. Went for dinner, returned to our turned down bed, placed our breakfast order which was delivered promptly in the morning and was delicious. Overall had a wonderful experience. The Carriage House is a cross between an Inn and a B&B, it was perfect for us!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeeinbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    49
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
202
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We spent two nights here for the first time, and the plusses are notable. The room was very large with good light and heat. The room also was extremely quiet albeit overlooking a parking lot. The bed was comfortable enough, and the room is well stocked (robes, free little snacks and drinks). Breakfast (free) is brought to the room after one fills out an order form the night before. In the office, there is a library of DVDs or tapes that one can borrow from to see a movie (didn't try this given that the TV was an old square set). The location is convenient to shops and restaurants but relatively far from the ocean. The reason I can't rate this higher is because the decor and bathroom definitely date from way back - late 70s or 80s. Check out the photos already posted. The floral wallpaper is dizzy-inducing, and the linens, upholstery, and curtains seem tired. Yes, there is a jacuzzi tub, but it is small, old, and didn't look inviting. There definitely is a country-style B&B vibe to the place, but the building and setting don't match this (no real garden space anywhere). Despite the outdatedness, one must acknowledge that many folks seems very happy with their stay here. (What I don't understand is how this place gets a higher rating than the LaPlaya hotel several blocks away - the LaPlaya also has problems with being "old," but at least the old is truly historic and the atmosphere and gardens are wonderful. Compare photos please.)

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxandread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

After travelling around the Triangle from Las Vegas to San Fransico and Los Angeles this was the best place we stayed.

The staff were very friendly, room was clean and a little special with log fire, big bed and tastfully furnished.

These are the type of places you just enjoy chilling in after traveling all day

Ours was room 3 from other reviews sounds like one of the best.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Tight Parking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed only one night, but it was one of my favorite stays during our drive up from L.A. We loved the gas fireplace--so cozy! We checked in just in time to see a wonderful sunet from our bedroom window. The lady who greeted us was so helpful and friendly. We ordered breakfast to be served in our room the next morning and it was delicious. You can order more than one thing, so we did a sampler of items and were delighted by everything. Great location for walking to shops and restaurants and down to the beach. I would definitely stay here again...and I hope soon.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and comfort; nice food amenities; great staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Houstonalle4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We stayed at the Carriage House Inn for 2 nights in May 2007. Carmel is great and the Inn is in a fantastic location - easy to get to restaurants and the beach. The room itself was great - huge with a vaulted ceiling, massive bed, window seat, a fireplace and a whirlpool bath. There was a great deal of attention to detail here - complementary snacks and drinks in the room, breakfast delivered to the room and wine and nibbles served in the "Library".
My only criticisms are that the bathroom area was very dated (but very clean!) and the approach to the room was a bit shabby with worn and frayed carpet on the stairs. Online booking would have been good too, as I had to telephone the Inn to make the booking and check availability.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Amotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsbytheSea, Guest Relations at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2007
We are pleased that this guest was generally satisfied with their experience however, some issues were cited concerning needed property improvements which we would like to address. Hopefully, it will please all of our guests to learn that the Carriage House Inn is under new management and will undergo a complete renovation of all of the guest rooms along with the building exterior in the next few months.

Also, in reference to on-line booking which was not available at the time this reservation was made, I am happy to report this feature is currently being repaired and will be operational again in the very near future.

We hope to see this guest again soon.

Chris Paim
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

We celebrated our 25th anniversary in Carriage House Inn. We had reserved room #2 but the manager was nice enough to "upgrade" us to #3 because it was available. This unit was quiet because the windows are facing the parking court instead of the street noise.

The room was spacious and comfortable. There were large lounge chairs which we placed in front of the fireplace. We enjoyed the small selection of DVD movies at the front desk. The jacuzzi was a nice feature but it's only big enough for one person at a time, so we didn't use it.

The delicious expanded continental breakfast was brought to our room (which we pre-ordered the night before) but I must admit the croissants, pastries, and cereal were on the small side. So the next time we ordered more items to make it a hearty meal.

The fireplace was a nice touch and it added to the romance as we cuddled in bed and watched the flames flicker away. (By the way, the fireplace is really a gas burner with a timer.)

The room was made up in the morning and turned down when we were out to dinner. We caught the manager turning down the room when we returned from dinner early one night and since it was raining outside, we just sat around watching him until he was done. Too bad we jumped into bed and messed up his nice arrangement as soon as he left.

The managemente tries to go the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. A few days after we returned home, we received a thank you card from them for staying at their place. That's the first time any place we stayed at acknowleged us.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Tight parking spaces for SUVs
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose unit 1 or 3
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Book the romance package and enjoy a wonderful experience. Rooms are cozy with a good seating area and a wonderful fireplace. Some rooms have a stereo with mp3 inputs, ask for one so you can bring along your player. DVD players in the room are a great bonus as are the included snacks of chips, cookies and soft drinks but be sure to take part in the evening happy hour. They serve good quality wines with appropriate snacks. Then go out to the restaurant you have chosen from their list and have a wonderful meal. One of the great pleasures is that you can walk to dinner and take a stroll afterwards.

The shower is hot, the towels fluffy, and the breakfast delivered to your room enjoyable.

The staff is friendly starting from the booking agent through to the person delivering the breakfast in the morning.

Oh and the champagne is on ice waiting for you in your room.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing