We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk in rates are wll worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Ranked #12 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walk in rates are wll worth it”
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Stayed at Sandpiper with the walk in rates of 125/night. The unit # 11, king room with ocean view was spacious, decorated with green, oriental ornaments. The inn was so close to the ocean, we went to sleep with the sound of waves. The inn keeper and breakfast were not as personal as some of the other B&B I have stayed at, but the size of room and the view all made up for it. Of course as the inn is one street in from the ocean, the ocean view is not as grand as one my expect, still very nice. The inn is located quite far from the restaurant area but as we took a walk along the beach, we actually enjoyed the walk but if you are thinking of staying there for a few days and enjoy the city, it may be quite tough to walk the distance everyday. Also, the room was nice but I am not sure if I would pay the full price... again the inn is not as personal and cute as B&B can be.

  • Liked — sound of ocean
  • Disliked — dinky bathroom and breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    119
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
226
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
conifer colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

Quaint, comfortable, clean, personalized excellent service. Slept like a baby on the comfy bed. Cozy patio areas, delightful staff, continental breakfast different each day. loved the location, 1/2 mile from the beach. WOW! What a find! Look forward to returning. Stayed by myself and felt secure and well taken care of.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank sealevellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My husband and I spent two nights at this small inn in Carmel. It was pretty much what we expected. I had trouble booking somewhere for around $150. This inn seemed like it would get the job done without any frills and that's pretty much what we got.

At $159/night for Carmel, I thought the price was decent. Our room was fairly spacious and we didn't hear noise from our neighbors. I will agree that the decor was in need of an update, but it wasn't dingy, just older. However, I thought the bathroom was exceptionally clean. I am fairly picky about bathrooms and I thought ours was very well lit and very clean. It was not fancy and certainly small, but it worked and didn't gross me out. The only thing I would complain about was the bed. It was uncomfortable! I like my sleep and our first night I felt like I didn't sleep much. It was as hard as a rock.

The continental breakfast was adequate. The fruit and cereal were very good. The table setup was a little strange (some people have to eat while seated on a couch), but the service was very friendly. Both mornings we had a croissant along with the cold breakfast. It was pretty good, I thought more choices might have been nice.

The distance from downtown Carmel was the main concern that I had about the inn. It was very nice during the day because the view along Scenic Drive is so distracting, but at night it's pretty dark and seems much longer. I think if you were planning to hang out on the beach, this location would be perfect, but walking to town is not super convenient.

On the bright side, Carmel seems to shut down around 6 so parking is easy at that point. The food stays open a little later, but it is definitely a sleepy town which is sort of nice.

The guests here ranged from our age (late 20s) to older (maybe early 60s). For those who have stayed at inns/ B&Bs before, there was nothing anymore awkward about the arrangement of this place than any other.

  • Liked — cleanliness, price
  • Disliked — decor, distance from downtown
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank unlikeanyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Stayed 5 nights at the Sandpiper. We stayed in room 11 that had a view of the ocean, which is the equivalent of a few blocks away. The room was attractive and large with King bed, OK bathroom and 2 comfortable chairs. Didn't miss the phone and TV - slept like logs in the comfortable bed.

Very large and lovely living room/dining room with fireplace where you have breakfast and afternoon tea. We brought wine which we kept in the fridge along with our snacks.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, the inn is very old and does smell old - but overall was a good value. It is far from town - too far too walk unless you're young and athletic - it's uphill all the way. Parking in town requires a little patience, especially on Saturday/Sunday at peak times. We'd probably stay in town next time - but if walking on the beach is your "thing", this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Liked — Proximity to ocean
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DonegalGirlStCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

I feel a little bad to write a somewhat negative review of this place, but feel it is fair to let others know my opinion.

First of all, I would NOT reccomend visiting Carmel if you like to explore and try different things. Please read last paragraph for reasons.

The Sandpiper Inn smelled funky (like an old person's house) when we first walked in. It felt very strange - it did feel like being in someone's house - but also like you and 20 other strangers were in someone's house.
We stayed in one of the unattached cabin rooms. Our room was not comfortable at all. It felt dirty and the bedspread looked very old and used. The carpet looked dirty and I didn't even take a shower in the bathroom because I just didn't feel like I would get clean in it. The towels were dingy and this was another reason I didn't take a shower. The room was in great need of updating - everything felt old and unclean. The bed was uncomfortable and I was glad that we only stayed one night. We were out of there first thing in the morning.
The rooms in the main part seemed like you were in a normal house - like next door should be your sister, but its some stranger. The rooms were right off the dining area. Kind of creepy to me - but I'm sure some people would like this fact.

The downtown area is very small and has alot of stores and shops that are geared towards more mature shoppers (to say it nicely). The beach is really nice though and the houses are all very unique. If you like looking at houses, I could see walking around the town just looking. We were quite bored in Carmel (in our 20's). We did the 17mile drive in Monterey which was AWESOME!! We got to Carmel, walked down the street of downtown, ate a late lunch, then were bored. So we decided to drive the 4hour drive down the coast of California to Hearst Castle. The coastal drive was so amazing and beautiful. make sure to book your tickets for castle tours ahead of time - we BARELY got on a tour and only because someone didn't show.

  • Liked — location to beach
  • Disliked — room felt dirty and old
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelingPantalones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

very nice and cosy place, feeling like living in a home rather than in a hotel, friendly service and tasty breakfast

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IoooooI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2006

Let's get the gripes out of the way first: Sandpiper Inn in Carmel is too expensive. US$ 149 or 159 is too much when the Inn is nearly 30 minutes walk from the centre of Carmel. Midtown San Francisco is cheaper. Savage cancellation policy: 7 day (even 14 day) cancellation is way out of line with everyone else and the US$15 "processing fee" on cancellations is a rip off. Read the Cancellation Policy before you book.
Guests required to notify Inn 24 hours prior to arrival. Right!
No phone in the room (public call box in the hallway). No radio.
BUT! it's a very pretty inn, with very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are really nice - about a million pillows adorn the bed!
Healthy breakfasts (for once!) and no plastic cutlery or delph.
Honest advertising - no non-existent views advertised, just accurate descriptions. You can view every single room on their website. It's an excellent website for booking, clearly indicating which rooms are available and allowing you to select the exact room you would like.
And being in beautiful Carmel, 2 minutes from the beach, what more could you ask!
Very clean, pleasant dining inside or outside, quaint and charming. The Sandpiper Inn is the quintessential inn.
Free roadside parking - but park on the correct side of the road or the county sherrif gives you a ticket (no warning) but can't blame Sandpiper for that!
And no TV. That's a bonus.

Helpful?
7 Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
724 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Property: Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Address: 2408 Bay View Ave, Carmel, CA 93923-9117
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing