We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Ranked #13 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A Nice Little Hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This was the first time we went to Carmel and stayed at the Sandpiper Inn. It was really a nice little hotel. The room was really nice and cozy. The breakfast was nice and we really felt at home. The only drawback from our stay was the weather in Carmel in May which was really grey and cold.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    117
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
220
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We were 'sold' a 'sea-view' room for $200; this was very expensive for this type of accommodation; there was hardly any view of the sea and I wonder how the $130 room would have differed! For $200, I'd expect a bottle of water in the room and a more generous breakfast: Cereal restricted to a bowl of Muesli. 'Toast? No, sorry, we don't do toast; would you like a slice of our special quiche? (which, to be fair, looked good - but not what we want for breakfast.) Nice people - but $200 - wow!
OK we've now been told Carmel is expensive - but the following night we had a superb room in Santa Barbara (also not a cheap resort) for $140. No contest!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainamusich, Manager at Sandpiper Inn Carmel, responded to this review, June 11, 2009
We are sorry to see that your stay was less than satisfactory. At the time we were transitioning managers and our prices had not yet been updated properly for the month. Things are going smoothly now and we hope that our pricing is more suitable to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

This is a lovely little hotel located well for both the beach and restaurants. We arrived after a long drive and Donna on reception was really welcoming and understanding. Parking was good, and the hotel has a good relaxed (and relaxing) feel. The room was a bit tight for space because the bed was huge. We had a great night's sleep though, a really comfortable bed. The bathroom had a good selection of toiletries and a good shower. Breakfast was informal, with fresh warm blueberry scones that were delicious. Overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We were in room 11, a great view of the beach and Pepple Hill, kept the window open to here the ocean. Comfy bed, pretty spread and chairs. The staff is freindly, the breakfast was excellent. It is an older place with lots of charm. A bit far from downtown but this was not a problem for us. You will be happy you choose this B and B.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymary02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVaughn1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Just spent two evenings at the Sandpiper -- and after perusing through many of the reviews again -- some of them hit on some valid points.

The inn is in need of some minor updating -- and upon our arrival -- our daughter-in-law stated that the place "smelled like old people" -- but we figured it was the kelp odor from the bay. :-)

My step-son and his wife stayed in the inn (room # 6) -- and my wife and I stayed in one of the detached rooms (room 'C'). Yes, room 'C' has an unshaded skylight -- but we are sound sleepers -- and early risers -- so, this posed no problem for us.

Room 'C' had a fresh smell and was nice and clean. We heard of no problems with room 6 either.

The rooms have neither television nor telephone -- and the inn is generally very quiet. This shouldn't be an issue with those of us greater than 40 years of age -- but younger visitors may take issue with this.

The breakfast was excellent!! The Sandpiper offers fresh fruit, granola, scones and plain or ham and cheese croissants.

There is wireless -- but it was basically unusable in the outside rooms -- I can only speak of room 'C' -- but can imagine a similar dilemma in the other outside rooms.

This inn is several blocks away from downtown -- but only a block away from Scenic Road -- where you can stroll along the beach and enjoy the fabulous scenery.

We love the west coast -- and will (hopefully) return to Carmel. We would definitely return to the Sandpiper.

Do your homework on Carmel and the Sandpiper before you go and you should not be disappointed.

  • Liked — location to Carmel Bay
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed for one night in Sandpiper Inn Carmel. The Inn is very nice, is seems that all guest are a big family! In the afternoon you have tea wih cookies and you have also a breakfast in the price. The Inn is a good location for couples and familes not for friends traveling togheter. Our room was really nice and the staff very friendly. The only negative thing is that you should go by car to the downtown of Carmel. At all a very relaxing place!

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed at the Sandpiper for three nights in one of the cabins behind the main house. We found the room to be pleasant but very crampted - there wasn't more than 30 square feet of open floor space. The bed was very comfortable. An unshaded skylight got us up much earlier than we would have liked and the glare exposed lots of cobwebs. The shower stall needs new grout - it was black in spots.

During the first night, a garden gate starting banging in the wind at 2.14 AM and kept us awake. We noted that the gate was secured with a small rock later that morning and then a large stone was required to finish the job around noon.

The breakfast was excellent and the morning host very accomodating.

We were lured by a very good rate for Carmel, but you get what you pay for. Next time, we will pay more and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — State of repair
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank martea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Property: Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Address: 2408 Bay View Ave, Carmel, CA 93923-9117
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing