We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Ranked #14 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed with my husband for two nights in Rm 12 during the first night then Rm 7 on the second night. I booked a couple days before a busy weekend so there was only a night available in two different rooms. I didn't mind because the location was what we were after. It's just a block from Carmel beach, a short walk to Carmel Mission church and little over a mile from the restaurants.
The inn is so homey and made us feel welcomed. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I loved the local soaps and shampoos that they provided as toiletries. It's the small things that made this place special. Rm 12 had an electric fireplace while Rm 7 had a wall heater. It was a bit chilly 40-60F during our stay but we're used to LA's 70F. We made use of the fire pit outside during breakfast so we can smell the fresh sea air in the morning. The breakfast was good. Filled us up for our morning fun and drive to Santa Cruz and Monterey for water sports.

Room Tip: Rm 12 is spacious and has an electric fireplace. The hair dryer is by the cabinet at the reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 347 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Sandpiper Inn is squeezed in amongst the charming houses near the beach at Carmel. It is tastefully decorated, has welcoming and helpful staff , very comfortable beds and a hearty breakfast, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary55London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We are returning guests at the Inn, and quality of service is excellent. Friendly staff, great breakfast, immaculate rooms, lots of extras provided, and we always meet interesting guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor have ocean view. Room 3, downstairs, large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed with my parents who were over from the UK. We all loved it. Charming place, friendly staff and close to the beach. Be warned - if you have a guest that doesn't do stairs, make sure to request a downstairs room. $6 taxi to get to Ocean Avenue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Charming place to stay. A block off of the beach. Great staff. Breakfast is good. Nice fire pit outside. Enjoyed our stay. Would go back again. It is a nice walk or short drive to all of the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sandpiper. Our first time visit to the Inn turned out to be great for us. Cozy and quaint in every way, the Sandpiper is a perfect jumping-off point for exploring Carmel. Located in a beautiful little area, we had the feel of belonging amongst the other strollers as we checked out the neighborhood and oceanfront areas. The path to the beach and view of the bay feels private too. It's located close enough to Ocean Street that you can easily get to the shops and restaurants, as well as the entrance to the 17 Mile Drive, which was beautiful. We experienced some rain during our trip, so it was always nice to return to the Sandpiper's lobby and the nice fireplace. Loved the morning quiche, fresh fruit and coffee. Thank you, Sandpiper...We will be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our view of the Bay from upstairs in the main building (room 6), and could hear the surf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were allocated a room to the rear of the Inn. We had no view but the interior was very nice and comfortable especially the bed. On our first morning for breakfast we had fruit, quiche and a fruit croissant. On the second we only had the fruit and quiche. The lady serving breakfast was more engrossed in speaking to 2 other members of staff to offer us anything else. Overall we found the staff impersonal although pleasant when spoken to. I found that I had to engage them in conversation as to them instigating this. We are involved in Tourism ourselves so feel we are in a position to comment. This is a lovely Inn in a great location. Carmel is fantastic and we would love to visit again. We would stay at the Sandpiper again if the staff were a bit more engaging.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Corran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#3 of 25 in Carmel
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Address: 2408 Bay View Ave, Carmel, CA 93923-9117
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $166 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing