We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy and basic little inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Ranked #12 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A cosy and basic little inn”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
+ very friendly staff when checking inn, giving good advice on places to eat in town etc.
+ cosy and rustic, but a bit basic, rooms (no TV in rooms, but that was actually refreshing for once
+ sea view from some rooms, and a good location right on the beach (but quite a long stroll from "downtown" Carmel)
+ decent wi-fi and parking spaces

Cons:
- breakfast is good, but there isn't really that much too choose from
- tiny bathroom

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    120
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
227
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff was friendly the inn was clean and rooms nice. Great value and only a block from the beach. Good breakfast as well. It was my fist B&B to stay at, but so much better than a hotel! We are definitely returning when we visit Carmel again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Perfect location, great price, beautiful views! Walking distance to the beach and the main stretch. Great breakfast and tea time snacks. Rooms are very clean and relaxing. Perfect getaway! No TV in rooms - which is refreshing. Friendly staff and beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a great view of the ocean and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The draw of Carmel is Relaxation, Peace, & Quiet. Days are full of walking through the neighborhoods looking at the homes, enjoying the beautiful, abundant, and varied vegetation, looking though the shops in the village, and having an excellent meal each night at one of the many fine restaurants. If you want a place to go with your children - go to Santa Cruz. If you're young and want to party - go to San Francisco. But, if you want to just relax and unwind, Carmel is the perfect place. This was our first stay at the Sandpiper Inn and we plan to return next year. Our room (12) was roomy and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was on the small side, but adequate. The breakfast choices were limited, but much to our liking. The staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Most popular rooms seem to be 5, 11, & 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in room #12 this trip and again the Sandpiper was great. Our 1st trip was here 24 years ago and while room 11 is our favorite over the 3 times we have stayed here we will stay here again, beautiful, quiet place, friendly staff!

Room Tip: 11 & 12 are our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulP754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed in this room and found it met all needs. We didn't want a tv and the only tv is in fact in the lounge and we only saw it on 1 time when a couple were watching for a bit. The house exceeded our expectation and the staff were really helpful and friendly- could not have been better. Breakfast was simple and well presented- organic granola/ yoghurts/ coffee/ juice/ yes and quiche. You had access to coffees and bottled water from the fridge and general use of the kitchen. There was coffees and biscuits laid on from 5-7pm at weekends. Plenty of parking, and probably the best location in Carmel. 30 seconds walk from the amazing beach front. Thoroughly value for money. We drove past many other hotels, b&b's and inns whilst in Carmel that we tried to book before the sandpiper ( all were booked over memorial weekend) we were glad they were.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights while in the Carmel area and quite frankly we were looking forward to a great experience at this B & B. We were assigned room # 3 and it was clean and functional. but rather pedestrian. The view from our window was the fence in between houses, it was small and not very well appointed...There was no TV and you could hear everything from other rooms and floors. The breakfast the next morning was disappointing as it seemed to be warmed up in the microwave for the guests. It was a quiche and they had self-serve coffee, juices, fruit and yogurt.
The facility was in average condition as in our view it needs some upgrading and updating to justify the cost at $165.00 per night...WIFI was very weak in our room and turned out to be useless...over-all it was quite disappointing in our view...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iamalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
726 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn Carmel

Property: Sandpiper Inn Carmel
Address: 2408 Bay View Ave, Carmel, CA 93923-9117
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like being a house guest in someone's exclusive seaside home. This early California country style inn, established in 1929, boasts of ocean views and the sounds of the surf crashing on the soft sand of Carmel Beach. Enjoy the serene comfort in one of our cozy rooms, by the fire in our fireside lounge, or outside on one of our garden patios. The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect getaway for the romantic couple or for those that just want to get away from the daily grind and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Inn Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Inn Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing