We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hideaway”
Review of Happy Landing Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Landing Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here two nights in Sept with our two dogs. The place is old in a good way, it's super charming. The bed was comfy the shower hot and we the breakfast in the morning, brought right to our door was hot and the coffee perfect!

It's close to everything you need to walk to in town! including the beach!!!

We lucked out and found this place by first visiting the Horizon Inn which is like the Hotel Concierge/Ambassador for all the hotel/Inns in Carmel. They somehow have all the vacancies & pet friendly spots in town. So if you're like us and have never been to Carmel before and don't realize how much you don't want to leave this place until you get there but then realize all the hotels are booked because it is a gorgeous weekend and nobody else is leaving either, go to the Horizon Inn to find a place to stay in town.

There is also a laundry-mat right next to the Horizon Inn (both on Junipero St) where we did a few loads, they have quarter machines on site.

In town we walked everywhere, we ate outside with our dogs at The Forge in The Forest, excellent happy hour menu! Cypress Inn (Doris Day's Place) is highly recommended! Dogs are very welcome inside by the bar but we opted to sit outside and we could still see into the piano room where 3 men were playing music (I think one piano, one oboe and can't remember the other instrument?) anyways it was so lovely!

We brought our dogs to the beach everyday, yes it's off leash, pet friendly! Everyone we spoke with was so friendly too. There are places to park near the beach, if you can get a spot close, but walking, especially if you're staying at Happy Landings is just as easy.

If you want to see Clint, as in Clint Eastwood, go to his place which is Mission Ranch. We caught him in the parking lot, as he was leaving but it still left us speechless. The locals say you can sometimes spot him behind the piano (in the restaurant) in the afternoons. I can't imagine how sweet that would be... maybe next time!

I really can't think of any cons at Happy Landings. For the life of me, I couldn't figure out how to turn on the gas fireplace, Oh well. Yeah it could've used a few more things like a couple bottles of water in the room or paper towels would've come in handy, but no biggie.

For the price we paid, this is an awesome place to stay, will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaceyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Happy Landing Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This quaint courtyard assemblage of half-timbered units dates back to the late '20s, but the accommodations have been updated where it counts -- the plumbing and the quality of the bed! Parking can be a challenge, but guests are equipped with overnight passes to allow parking in resident-only spaces overnight. The courtyard pond and gazebo are a little tattered, but the attitude of the inn owner is warm and inviting. The morning coffee and quiche were excellent. A great place to gather with friends, as we did. The common room is the equivalent of a manor inn with fireplace, peaked ceiling and period furniture. Very dog-friendly.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a timbered ceiling and gas fireplace. A favorite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiddenFindSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It is, really charming. It made our stay in Carmel to be awesome. I went with my wife and slept there for 3 nights. A very reasonable breakfast comes in the room every morning. Dawn, one of the owners and innkeepers, is very helpful and friendly. We arrived after the office had closed and she left our key there, with parking instructions and a warm welcome letter.

It is located very close to Ocean Ave., the main street of Carmel, you get to see it all walking (except for the beach, maybe you should take a car to it, but not very far). It has a beautiful courtyard with a pergola, under which we had supper one day, having brought food from the market.

We stayed at Room 5, which is very good except for the bathroom: the folding door doesn't close fully, there is always a small (you should put some music on when going to the bathroom...) and the shower place is a small gap (you cannot see inside, but you do hear). The sink, though, is outside, next to the drawer, which is handy when you are two. Comfortable bed and nice windows and curtains (blackout).

All in all, an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Charming little cottage style rooms, very friendly front desk and super pet friendly. Breakfast served in the morning was delish and fresh. Room we stayed in was small, but we don't need much space. Great location, easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants but far enough off Ocean Ave that it was very quiet. One criticism, it was very warm that day and night with no cool breeze. Room got very stuffy even with windows open. If the room had AC I couldn't find it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night and wished it had been more. Nice little B & B one block from downtown and about 1/2 mile from the beach. Breakfast served to our room in the morning. Dawn was very helpful with dining recommendations and travel information.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A lovely little place in a good location for Ocean Avenue,the beach and close to the 17 mile drive. The 2 owners were lovely and helpful .the breakfasts were delicious and a great touch having them brought to your room. I loved having my own front door, I would definitely come back.

Scott johnston

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnstons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We rated HL "Very Good", but approaching "Excellent". Very co-operative inn keepers. Very friendly. Nicely kept. A bit small in the bathroom, especially the shower. Breakfasts were excellent and delivered promptly. Plus, they were tasty and warm. Located near-enough to the main drag and all the shops and restaurants, but not too close. The parking was a bit tight, but manageable. Check-in and check-out were as easy as it has ever been anywhere. A little too much on the pink side (for a macho guy, but OK by the wife), but the decor was overall very tasteful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#2 of 25 in Carmel
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.2 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Landing Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Landing Inn

Address: Monte Verde Between 5th and 6th, P.O. Box 2619, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $216 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in January 2014, the Inn is nestled among whispering pines, close to the heart of the village and just a short stroll to the white sands of Carmel's renowned beach. Enjoy the comforts of our newly renovated rooms, patterned after great American icons. Most rooms have cathedral ceilings and stained glass windows,some with fireplaces. Outside your door you will find our award winning gardens, perfect for small events and weddings. Enjoy the outdoor fireplace area in the evenings. Every morning a warm breakfast is served to your room. And we are 100% dog friendly.The Happy Landing Inn - Come fall in love! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Happy Landing Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Landing Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing