We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggie--and People--Heaven”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doggie--and People--Heaven”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Located in the center of the dog-loving town of Carmel, this hotel is so dog-friendly that if you don't love dogs you might not want to stay here. It's a charming historic Spanish-style hostelry, but the real attraction is what we call "the puppy bar." The lounge, living room (with fireplace) and flower-filled courtyard are all places for people to hang out with their pets. Locals on a walk stop by for a cocktail so their dogs can meet the tourists during "yappy hour." Despite the dozens of canine guests, the hotel is remarkably quiet. After a remodel, rooms are well-decorated and comfortable. Humans get complimentary sherry, fruit and water, while soft blankets, dog bowls and treats are provided to the dogs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicki2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    266
    95
    28
    37
See reviews for
229
692
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We really liked the vibe of this place. Good service. Nice atmosphere. Nice people. Quaint. Really liked all the dogs everywhere (NB - if you don't like dogs, don't stay here, as they really are everywhere in the hotel). And the rooms are nice for the price - not a 5 star by any means, but they have good character and are very authentic. The one knock on this place - and it is a big one - is that the rooms are not quiet. We could hear everything in the room next to us - snoring (all night), voices (we could hear what other guests were saying clearly), etc. Made it very hard to sleep. For that, I have to ding what otherwise was a great hotel - afterall, ability to have a good night's sleep is an important rating component for a hotel. We probably wont stay here again for that reason, but will be back for tea, cocktails, and food because we really loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Inn on the recommendation of a friend who raved about her recent stay and for the most-part we couldn't agree with her more. Set on a side street in Carmel, with the sound of the surf in the background, the Inn is an older but well maintained facility which stands out due to (a) the friendliness and quality of its staff; (b) its excellent restaurant (and daily Happy Hours); (c) its close proximity to Carmel's beach and shops and gallerys; and its pet friendly status whichnot allows guests to bring their animals on vacation.
We plan on repeating our visit but hope that the next timesomeone will have instituted a "rent a pet" program.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chap914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We spent another lovely weekend at Doris Day's inn in Carmel. We like staying in the new building with fireplaces. The people who work and stay there are all interesting and very friendly. You might even spot a movie star. We stay here because the inn allows dogs and the humans get to enjoy real comfort. The highlights of our stay are always the beautiful library with its huge fireplace and live music (dogs allowed of course) and the beautiful breakfast room (dogs allowed in some areas). It is the only place to stay in Carmel when traveling with your pooch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikizuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I am a regular at Cypress Inn, visit there several times a year. Each Christmas en route to southern CA, I stop and spend two or three nights there with my dog, Butter. The purpose of the stay is usually to decompress from all the holiday parties here, in readiness for spending a quiet holiday with my holidays family. Cypress Inn is perfect as a home-away-from-home spot. The staff is friendly and extremely accommodating, and also well-informed. Rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. There's an excellent bar/restaurant in the hotel. If you're a solo traveler this place offers many opportunities for conversation in the bar/restaurant or the living room where a very nice afternoon tea is served. Or you can sit by the fireplace with a book and enjoy total privacy. Cypress Inn is well located, right around the corner from Ocean Avenue's intriguing shops, galleries and fine restaurants. If you're traveling with your dog, you'll be especially happy at Cypress Inn. It is, indeed my favorite inn to visit, located in my favorite spot to go in all the world.

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Look No Further In Carmel! This Is Our 2nd Stay Here And As Usual It's Charm, Warmth And Hospitality Can't Be Beat!!! The Food, Drinks (Best Espresso Martinis), Ambiance Can't Be Beat!!! Stay in The Courtyard Rooms So Charming! The Best Nightlife In Carmel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm2332550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

i took my dalmatian to the cypress inn christmas week, and it was heavenly. the inn looked gorgeous in a simple, elegant way. there were many dogs and dog -obsessed travelers enjoying lunch, breakfast, or dinner at terry's lounge - or drinks in front of the roaring fire and tall christmas trtee. i will return each and every year. i loved it.
not many inns of that caliber take dogs - and many locals come to enjoy cocktails with their dogs - so you get a very interesting mix of people enjoying this unique setting.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amynachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing