We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love this hotel not only because of the great location but the staff is excellent . My husband and I stay here at least once a year in the fall. The accommodations I think are very nice for a hotel that was originally built in the 1920's. Of course it has been remodeled since then, but you still have that sense of history about you. The hotel is dog friendly but if you don't bring your dog along there is usually one that will enjoy some extra attention from a new friend. I really enjoy Terry's for breakfast and then an evening glass of wine or afternoon tea in the beautiful living room across from the front desk. All in all this hotel is gem in the middle of downtown Carmel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KHH159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    209
    65
    21
    26
See reviews for
165
529
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This gem in Carmel can give you the true feel of the Carmel life. Carmel is a very dog friendly city and Cypress Inn allows dogs in the rooms and have a dog friendly happy hour at the bar Terry's. Price can be steep on important weekends but the rooms are a comfortable size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebblebeach31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetsund, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the evening and got a warm welcome. Very friendly front office at all times. We were four people and probably got one of the smallest and not a good situated room. It was no 107 and was just on top of the stairs with a tiny bathroom and a wall as view. Nevertheless the hotel has charm and soul. The gym is tiny but I could do what I came there for. The hotel has a lot of dogs and I like dogs, but it is a bit too much when you can't get to your room because six dogowners and their dogs are blocking the way and do not make a move to let you through.... The breakfast was a disappointment. Very bad selection of food, bread etc. and very much unhealthy stuff. I guess that's just American. The hotel is perfectly located to everything Carmel has to offer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fetsund_NorwayGry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

As soon as I walked into the lobby I fell in love with the place. They had a lot of movie memorabilia about the lobby and as you walked through the hallway. Being there gave me nostalgia and I felt at peace immediately. Carmel is a beautiful town with beautiful little shops and art galleries so this hotel fit perfectly in this town. It's very quiet and there's no hustle and bustle. I loved the room we had and when we got there we immediately got upgraded to a bigger luxury room. It had a big jacuzzi and a really nice ceiling fan. The bed was so comfortable too! Every time I go back to Carmel I will always stay at the Cypress Inn.

Room Tip: Please book way in advance. They didn't have any rooms available so I went in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MercedesMercado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful find in Carmel with a welcoming and attentive staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, we were pleasantly surprised by their friendliness. This place is very dog friendly and we are so grateful for this hospitality so that our dog was able to enjoy our quick family vacation along the coast. Carmel Inn is located an easy walk to all the shops in town and a downhill walk to the beach. Our room faced the street and yes you do get street noise especially with the balcony doors opened. Our room was large with a fireplace and oversized relaxing tub. Breakfast was included which had a variety of choices: eggs, potatoes, pastries and wonderful popovers. Limited hotel parking was available a short walk away so that you didn't have to move your car every two hours during the day. All in all, a fantastic find and we will definitely return here when in Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisier at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Drinks in the courtyard, waiter a bit diffident, beautiful property environment.
Dogs welcome everywhere which is always a nice ice breaker to interesting meetings, conversations and people.
Some of the clientele swanning around is local, some a bit eccentric, all fascinating with their airs and graces.
Difficult to get dining reservations as it is so known and popular so I am unable to comment on dining service or food quality.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelready247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had the best experience EVER at Cypress Inn,staff very friendly and helpful,they are dog friendly as well.Really enjoyed our mini vacation can't wait to go back with our little dogs.The hotel also gives you home made style brandy free, Our dogs were very comfortable and enjoyed their room as well.I believe Doris Day owns part of the hotel,she is a big dog lover.They also give you fresh fruit every morning in your room and free breakfast.Your dogs can go anywhere in the hotel with you.

Room Tip: Seriously this is the real deal I have traveled for many years to different hotels this by far was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thethreemoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing