We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place in Carmel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Place in Carmel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the Cypress Inn, Room 215 and we had a great time. The staff is very attentive and would do anything for us. We loved our room as it has a patio that you can see the bay. The only downside was it was a little noisy from the street in the morning. This is not the hotels fault jus the nature a staying on a street side room in a very old building that doesn't have some of the sound deadening. The bar was over the top and Crystal is the best bar tender in all of Carmel. We spent several afternoons sipping on drinks and had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 215 if you don't mind a little morning noise! great patio to enjoy a glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    234
    80
    22
    30
See reviews for
193
596
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Randy at the front desk made us feel right at home, from the time we called for a rez, through check in and sitting down for dinner. Yes, the dog friendly dining area could be larger and some of the rooms are small, but I found that to be part of the charm. We will definitely return, as our dogs loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This inn is in a lovely setting, easy to drive right by it, but centrally located. Easy to walk downtown Carmel which is nice. The food is good at the restaurant and your dog can lie at your feet. The eating area in the restaurant is not large so there can be several dogs which may or may not be an issue for you. The room seems a little old, dated, although large and the bathroom was also large.
Not sure we would stay there again although it is a lovely facility.
Dog treats at the front desk.

Room Tip: The court room rooms looked nice although we didn't stay in them. I think they may have been hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siderunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

What a wonderful place. A great location in town. The food at Terry's was excellent, had a burger and it was the best in town. We had a nice spacious room with a balcony overlooking the street and a fabulous two person oversized tub. Breakfast was terrific especially the popovers. Good Coffee as well. The staff was very warm and friendly and very accommodating. Nice ambiance, we even got to watch a Doris day movie while having breakfast in the lounge area. The dogs also had a terrific stay and said they want to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our 2 night stay at the Cypress Inn and we very much enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very cute, well kept and clean, which is great considering it is extremely dog friendly (you must be a fan of furry kids to stay here). The room rate includes breakfast which is a nice touch (nothing fancy but more than just a continental breakfast). We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms w a courtyard view and found it very pleasing other than the fact that it was a little snug. We had read other reviews ab the noise level regarding courtyard view rooms but we were totally fine. The courtyard is part of Terry's Lounge, which is a great place to enjoy a nice bottle of wine after a day full of exploring and shopping. Also, we loved our waitress Sandra who was super friendly!


The Cypress Inn is centrally located and in walking distance to my new favorite restaurant in Carmel (Casanova)! The only minor nuisance was the parking situation. Being a small town, of course, they don't have parking other than a small lot across the way. Guests must park on the street and unless it is after 6pm you will have to move your car after 2 hours. This wasn't a deal breaker, but just something to keep in mind.

Lastly, Doris Day is one of the proprietors so her movie posters and memorabilia are ALL over the place. Again didn't mind this too much as it gave the Inn a nice vintage feel.

Overall, we loved the Cypress Inn and would def stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Cypress Inn feels like home from the minute you walk in. The staff is warm and friendly and the Inn is welcoming and comfortable. We love the location in Carmel - walking distance to everything including the beach. The quality of the morning breakfast spread and all the food and beverage is terrific. Freshly baked pastries, delicious eggs, potatoes and juicy fresh fruit and hot coffee/tea are included in your room rate. Many evenings live entertainment is provided in the "living room" style lobby. Best of everything, our "Fido" aka Lucky is welcomed everywhere (with the exception of the interior of Terry's bar.) I think Lucky enjoys the place as much as we do. He meets tons of canine friends each day in the courtyard and lobby. And the nearby "dog friendly" Carmel beach is truly a treat for him too. The Cypress Inn has a variety of room choices - something for everyone - and the towels and bedding are 5 star.

Room Tip: Lots of choices at Cypress Inn.- Rooms by the courtyard can be a bit louder. Some rooms have French...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arubajan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I never leave reviews but had to with this place! :) We can't recommend this place more! My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to California driving down the coast. We new we wanted to stay in Carmel but didn't book our hotel until the morning of. When we got there we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff (particularly Randy!) as the upgraded us once he found it was my birthday and our anniversary. Our room was absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. It was the most relaxing place we stayed at our entire trip. I think Randy said the rooms have recently been renovated. We were in a King Bed Suite and it was very clean, smelled great, bed was comfortable and very pretty! Randy gave us perfect recommendations for dinner and where to go for drinks. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing