We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Kennel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kennel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yuk room smelt like dog dander or urine. Parking is a joke! Tiny bathroom ,fitness room is not worth seeking out! Breakfast was poor,always outta eggs, had to go out and spend another $30 .don't do it unless your traveling with dogs they may love it...I did not,at all!

Room Tip: Plenty of other places to stay in town for around the same$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221Thomas_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    220
    72
    21
    29
See reviews for
180
567
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed twice with our old lab, Jake. We always stop by for lunch or drinks in the courtyard after Jake went to the big beach in the sky, just to get our doggie fix. Enough about dogs. The hotel is a beautiful Spanish style building, beautifully appointed, and wonderfully staffed. I LOVE Carmel, but have a hard time leaving the hotel, as everything is so nice there. The complimentary morning breakfast (continental, but nicer) is fantastic. The Doris Day memorabilia and movie posters are a really neat touch. Every time I get to Carmel, I stop by just because it's so lovely. As soon as our pup settles down, we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel owned by Dorris Day. We stayed in the wonderful Tower room that had 2 levels - a great deal if you have kids. The hotel is very dog friendly which is nice because the owners are really friendly and dogs well behaved. Centrally located in our favourite city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tanglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Kahlie and the staff and the Cypress in are just wonderful people. This hotel is a beautiful location as well as has its own lovely decor. Doris and Dennis should be proud. This was our dogs, and my first visit to Carmel. What a great experience. The staff checked us in smoothly and greeted us and our pups everytime we left and returned to the hotel. There are even "cookies" at the front desk for the dogs and Sherry for the parents in the room. You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms you select at this delightful Inn. From the nightly entertainment to the delightful delish breakfast in the morning, we could not have picked a better location to experience Carmel and my husband's birthday at. We will be back and I am recommending this location to all my clients and friends who ask about Carmel.

Room Tip: For less noise pick a room that does not have a view of the front or a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarletlasceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cypress Inn is a hotel owned by Doris Day and serves the best burgers in the Carmel. But the most amazing part of the hotel/restaurant is that you can bring your dogs and eat with them at your side! My wife and I simply *love* it here, it's our favorite joint in all of Carmel and Monterey and we always make it a point to stop here when we're in the area. The wait staff is awesome, the location is fantastic and the food is a tremendous value! If you own dogs, this place has to be on your check-list!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldwinsville,New York USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We knew the hotel was pet friendly when we booked but we were a little overwhelmed by the number of dogs. Don't get us wrong - we like dogs very much and most of them were very well behaved but sometimes the barking could be heard in our room and we were continually stepping over them to get through the public spaces. The hotel itself is very quaint and comfortable (no air conditioning though) and the staff was wonderful. The continental breakfast was one of the best we've had! We had a wonderful time but wouldn't go back just because of the sheer amount of dogs.

Room Tip: Try for one of the 12 rooms in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jujuoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Looking for the best spot to stay in Carmel, Cypress Inn can't be beat! I reviewed several hotel options prior to our trip to Carmel and the Cypress Inn stood out in all the reviews, and we weren't disappointed. The location can't be beat, only a few blocks (downhill) to the beach area with spectacular views in all direction. We were greeted by Andrew the doorman, who proved to be a wealth of knowledge, making great recommendations for restaurants and attractions. The hotel couldn't be more perfect and quaint, with an awesome room off the lobby and cool bar area. While the rooms are smallish, our's was a corner room with gas fireplace and was perfect for our stay. We had a great breeze through the room and the fireplace was cozy at night. The room couldn't have been cleaner as was the entire hotel. While it's a pet friendly hotel, you wouldn't have known it by the cleanliness. Dogs were everywhere, but all were well trained and behaved and possed no problems. There's a great patio off the lobby that is ideal for afternoon relaxing and drinks. The bar area serves as the space for the complimentary breakfast which was the best I've had anywhere. I can't wait to return to the Cypress Inn and highly recommend it to all. You feel at home with the charm of the hotel and friendliness of the entire staff. It's the perfect spot in Carmel.

Room Tip: Corner room provides great light and breeze from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing