We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A terrific choice for location, style and dining.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A terrific choice for location, style and dining.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had not been to Cypress Inn for several years and am amazed at the quality of the rooms, service, dining and general feel of the place. I highly recommend it for couples, singles and for a great vacation. Everything that Carmel should be.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable rooms but ask about locations since they can vary with noise levels. No pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    220
    72
    21
    28
See reviews for
179
564
49
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Truly enjoyed our time at the Cypress Inn. Beautifully kept surroundings - gorgeous gardens and welcoming staff who go the extra mile to help with anything you need. The architecture itself of the building is memorable. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the historic church and although quite smallish our room was extremely comfortable and quite adequate. The bathroom was also small but once again was excellent for our 1 night stay. The front piano bar was superb with its open fire for a late night coffee or drink. Breakfast included is fabulous with lots of choice and very fresh produce. Wirless internet is a bit tricky as signal is not strong throughout the hotel - I could not get a signal in my room and I found I had to sit in Terry's Bar near the main hallway to be able to access my email, etc, but it was pleasant sitting there anyway. The memorabilla of Doris Day is also very interesting to browse. Also liked visiting with the various dogs staying at the Inn as I was missing my puppy back in Australia!! Loved the fairy lights all over the Inn of an evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamsComeTrue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What's not to love about this hotel. Great service, very clean, charming atmosphere and they love dogs. In fact, Carmel, in general, is one of the most dog friendly places I have ever been to. OK, back to the Cypress Inn. Their breakfasts are yummy and you can eat outside on the patio on a nice morning. They serve tea in the afternoon. And, with all the dogs around, you make instant friends with the other dog owners. I have had some of the most enjoyable visits at the Cypress Inn over the years

Room Tip: I can't remember the room numbers, but the ones on the second floor facing the patio are nice, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam62656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Cypress Inn is a lovely hotel in a great location in Carmel, right off of Ocean Ave. All the staff are just lovely, the hotel is very charming, but the most significant comment I can make, other than it is a lovely place, is it is the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed at, and I've traveled quite a bit, including Europe. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TedsRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the dog biscuits at the front desk to the waitresses stepping around your pooch as you dine on the patio or in the lobby; the Cypress Inn is dedicated to your dog's pleasure.

And there's plenty for the humans to enjoy. The continental/hot breakfast is included in the room price and proved to be a great value. Ask about the fresh hot pop overs in the morning.

But be warned, there are no breakfast meats offered, we figured that that might prove to be too tempting for the four legged guests.

We saw guests without dogs staying at the Inn but could not imagine coming without our furry friend.

Room Tip: We had a queen sized room on the second floor which was cozy but quiet (no view). Our friends had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in a smaller room on the top floor. Clean and well lit, windows led out to a parkette area. Bathroom was clean and well stocked. The staff were outstanding. I really have to hand it to them that everyone was so helpful and sweet. My doorman carried my large and heavy bag up several flights of stairs without complaint. He took the time to recommend which restaurants to visit. Very sweet.

I LOVED the doggy atmosphere. I was away from home and only staying one night but I loved visiting with everyones pups. This hotel does lend itself to an older crowd but I didn't mind. The fireplace and couches were perfect. The food was excellent and I enjoyed every minute. I would definitely return. I dined there on two separate occasions during my trip as well as breakfast - no complaints there! The rooms were very clean, free sherry provided (I didn't partake but it was a lovely gesture) and great layout.

The only nit-pick I would have about the place is that the room is a little dated decor wise and some fellow guests had a very loud 2am conversation outside of my window but once I opened the window and kindly asked if they wouldn't mind whispering they apologized and moved on.

The Inn is right downtown Carmel and close to everything you could wish to visit. There are many shops and lovely art studios, candy makers, restaurants. The waiter recommended I visit Dametra Cafe - it's a must! Great fun and food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spagirlforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
998 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and liked the feel of the inn with all the movie (and music) memorabilia. We had the room closest to reception and it was a little cramped for the four of us and all our luggage. The room includes some nice touches, like free nuts and sherry. Even though the temperature never went above 65, without air con the room was a bit hot overnight. Breakfast was really nice and you could tell it was all high quality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing