We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress Inn to your Saves list
Cypress Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A group of 12 women recently celebrated birthdays at the Cypress Inn, where we stayed for 3 nights. The staff was friendly, the special birthday dinner was great (and reasonable), the location couldn't be better for exploring Carmel, and the rooms were, for the most case, comfortable and charming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We received a very warm welcome, got a very spacious and beautiful room, with a nice turned on fire place. It is a lovely hotel, with in general great service and stylish rooms. Our room felt a bit like Doris Day-Days. Liquor on the cabinet (not in bottles, but in a decanter), fire place, beautiful bedlinen, nice curtains, etc.

As we arrived late, we had dinner at the restaurant. The food selection was a bit to exotic (pleasing Carmel residents?), but the food itself wasn't that exciting. The (included) breakfast had the typical selection and zero service (hey you, pick up your toasted bagel --- may be zero isn't the right word? I would have thought friendly staff service coffee/tea/toasted items, etc. would have been the minimal ... Oh' I miss Asia :)

I am professional travel and usually stay in good hotels, as I live in Asia the service expectancy might be slightly higher at my end.

That said, it is still a nice hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AxelWinter952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Sadly, this hotel is quaint and underwhelming. We were told that we were getting the "nicest room in the hotel. It had an incredible patio/balcony. The building had charm and the staff was friendly. Unfortunately the lauds end there. The room was small. The bed was stiff on the sides and sagged in the middle. There were two outlets in the room. Both were occupied. We asked about parking (we would have paid for valet because it's Carmel.) and found that the 9 spaces were occupied. "Don't worry. They will leave you alone until 10 in the morning." No dogs in the restaurant but that's California state law so don't advertise dogs in the lounge. I could add 4 more things but I'm just getting tired. Oh because of water conservation you have to flush 3-4 times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usmotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The room is not worth the price. The outdated building is located in the middle of town and the noise from the street can be heard in the rooms. Although it is a dog friendly place, dogs are not allowed in parts of the hotel or on the guest beds. Parking is limited and off-site. I would recommend the Carmel Inn or maybe somewhere in Paso Robles instead, where one can get better amenities for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Cypress Inn in Carmel is by far one of the best experiences I have ever had while travelling. The Inn is just what you would expect from having Doris Day as it's co-owner, beautiful, classy, understated, and a friendly staff that will bend over backwards to make sure that your experience is nothing but the best for you and your dog (if you bring one...)

Great location go out the lobby door and explore Carmel, then when you get back, have a drink at terry's and relax, live music in the living room, GREAT food, I had breakfast lunch and dinner there and it was exceptionally good every time. A concierge who took care of all of your needs and a great dog sitting staff if you want to leave your pooch in good caring hands. Darlene and Joe both took care of my dog and were just amazing,

Thank You Cypress Inn for making this a perfrect weekend trip. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpoint, id
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the beautifully refurbished property to the well trained and helpful staff, from the exceptional continental breakfast to the cozy fireplace in our room, from the dog friendly/dog loving attitude to the cocktails on the patio, from the concern for our comfort shown by the hotel manager Fiona to the ideal location in Carmel, our stay here was a delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boomersandpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Love love love this place.
It's so quaint and incredibly charming.
Rooms are very cozy with traditional furnishings.

Terrys Bar is a must go to. Doris Days' movie posters are on the walls. So special
And you can request to see her movies on the silent tv's.
Great Happy Hour as well..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#