We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“COZY B&B in Heart of Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“COZY B&B in Heart of Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location, nice friendly staff, good breakfast...has a great Boutique B&B feel to it... Doris Day owns it... Good history. Only reason we didnt go 5... is that its PET Friendly... and my GF is not pet friendly... Walls are thin... so dont have loud Sex.... I thought it was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsinha7975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    234
    80
    22
    30
See reviews for
193
596
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went to the Cypress Inn 3/8-3-10 with our 2 dogs. The location is ideal for shopping, eating at great restuarants, walking onCarmel Beach, no better choice of hotels if you are a dog owner and lover. The hotel treats your dogs with the same respect and attention you get as a human. Just know that you are not allowed to leave the dogs in the room. The rooms are cute and quaint. We were in room 211, small suite with queen bed, sofa and fireplace. It was perfect for us since we don't mind the queen bed. The only issue is it gets a little stuffy if you have the fireplace on..there is not a lot of natural light in the room, but that was no issue to us at all. We loved this hotel and will go back again. However, for travelers that don't have dogs...I am sure there are other hotels and Inns you may prefer. Dogs are everywhere, in the bar, lounge and restaurant. There is no pool or room service...but they were not missed at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette60802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Why stay there and tips on what to do in Carmel.

1. Even if you have a tight budget, staying at the Cypress will be a memory you won't forget.

2. Come early to the town of Carmel, it is great to walk around in at night.

3. The entire town in dog friendly, including the Cypress, so if you want to bring your pooch you can!

4. The breakfast buffet included with the room is great, and if you are adventurous and want to meet some people, it is a great place to strike up conversation with other guest. Especially if they have a dog too.

5. When we walked around at night, a fog rolled in, and the little village almost seemed mystical.

6. Make sure you walk down to the beach during the day, it is very pretty and something you would miss if you didn't look for it.

7. Try to eat at a restaurant in Carmel and get outdoor seating with a fireplace.

8. The hotel has some nice outdoor seating that you should take advantage of.

9. The shops in Carmel as well as some of the cottages are so unique and must be explored!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Cypress is a walk from the beach and the restaurants and shops in downtown Carmel. A really fun place. Great jazz piped in. Visit Terry's lounge downstairs at happy hour and check out all the dogs. There's excellent food too. Love the Doris Day memoribilia. Feels relaxed and homey.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Unfortunately you can't leave your dog unattended in your room. We managed ok though because Carmel is the dog friendliest place on the PLANET!!! We just took our boy with us everywhere. The front desk will give you a list of dog friendly restaurants - we went to one for dinner and sat on the patio - a little brisk at night in February....just another sacrifice for poochie. The buffet breakfast was really nice - once again, couldn't leave the dog in the room, so we took turns, and brought our breakfast into our room.

We had main floor room with a king sized bed with french doors leading to the courtyard. I was a bit concerned about noise, but it was really quiet. The clientele was a bit older - (At $450 per night, I would say it's only an older crowd who can afford it), so in bed early and quiet when they left in the morning. We did hear dogs barking, which would stir up our boy - but it wasn't annoying, and all the other guests seemed to be very responsible dog owners. Also the floors were tile - which is nice at a pet friendly hotel - and it did NOT smell like dog.

Lastly - there are only 9 spots in the designated parking lot - and it was full, so we had to park 2 blocks away and walk back to the hotel...which is a pain when you are paying $450 per night. But everything is walkable in Carmel, and the area is safe - so no worries about getting your car broken into, it's just a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our anniversary/Valentine's Day/Birthday celebration. As we were traveling with our dog we went to the Cypress Inn. We stayed in one of the king suites with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Great - I love the light in the suites and the number or windows that open(if you have read previous reviews of mine you will see that air is a big issue for me). The service is great - I had called down for more bath salts and someone was at our door with them within 5 minutes. Very clean and well maintained hotel. The restaurant - Terry's - is very good and a great value - I will write a separate review on that. The hotel has a small parking lot - we were there during the AT&T proam but still did not have a problem parking. Super location as well. Quiet as well. Great breakfast that is included - eggs, pastries (really high quality), fruit, good coffee and selection of teas. My boyfriend is a green tea snob and was able to find they carried a brand he likes. Highly recommend with or without your dog.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greengardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and i stayed here in January for my birthday. To list the endless ways the staff provided us with an amazing and memorable experience, does not do this place justice!! Khamis was working the reception area upon our arrival. When he found our we were celebrating my birthday, he began pulling out all the stops to make us feel like royalty. Our room was beautiful, lush and romantic. Fruit and nuts (complimentary) awaited us in our room. The amenities were plentiful; Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, evening wine by the fire with great live acoustic music. The list goes on and on. Every staff member on the premises greeted us with a smile and a friendly greeting. We felt like celebrities. The hotel was beautiful, and extremely clean! This is a dog friendly hotel and we are dog lovers, so we know this can be a feat! Upon our return from dinner, we had a lovely bottle of champagne on ice awaiting us with two flutes and a sweet note welcoming us to the hotel. Seriously. I have NEVER had a better customer service experience in my life. MY FAVORITE HOTEL-EVER!

Room Tip: I have stayed in every part of this hotel and there are no bad room. The beds are so comfortable, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akibomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#16 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing