We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy New Years - top notch”
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, CA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Doggy New Years - top notch”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have visited Cypress Inn at New Years for the last 12 years, every year of our dog's life so far. We couldn't get a room a few years but now we book a year in advance. There's something about 40-60 well behaved dogs with their people all having fun that is intoxicating.

Room Tip: Any that are available - we haven't had a bad one yet. It is an old hotel so the rooms are not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    265
    95
    28
    37
See reviews for
227
692
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Doris Day is part owner. Barbara Eden was there the night I was there. She has a beautiful dog. There is live music on the weekends. The place is beautiful. Dogs everywhere. Bless the wait staff who are so kind and patient with the guests and their loved pampered canine companions. If you are traveling with a dog, this is the most dog friendly place I have seen. If you are not traveling with a dog, you cannot come into this place without smiling from ear to ear. You smell nothing no odors at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiedanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Cypress Inn is lovely and elegant and makes travelling with a dog so easy. The rooms are a nice size and the hotel is charming. The staff are friendly and helpful and if you travel with a dog, the staff all seem to love dogs. And all the guest dogs are on their best behavior. The Inn is in a great location , easy walk to the beach or to all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very bright, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our third year visiting the Cypress Inn in early December, and again it was truly a special experience. The hotel is beautiful, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent . . . right in the village of Carmel within seconds of walking to great restaurants, stores and galleries and a short walk to the ocean (you can hear the waves from the hotel). The rooms are also special and individual, and we've had the same for each of the last three years (when you book, they assign you the room you select). This hotel is dog friendly, which is an understatement - they treated our dogs like valued guests and the animals (which many patrons bring to the hotel) have the run of the hotel with some small exceptions. So if you have dogs (or not) and want a truly special experience - stay here! I could not recommend it more highly. They also have great nightly/weekend entertainment - a highlight this year was the incredibl singer Debbie Davis with the pianist Gennady. They alone are worth coming here!

Room Tip: View their floor maps to select the type of room you want . . . this is a "boutique" hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the Pleasure of Staying at the Hotel for Our 14th Anniversary
it was a Great stay, Excellent Service,Great room with a Jacuzzi tub, it is a quaint litttle place located in the downtown area of Carmel
The Front Desk Manager was very Accommodating, her name was Kahli whipple,she saw to our every need and request
we would Highly recomend this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a wonderfully charming B&B in the heart of Carmel. The front desk staff was so warm and friendly. They recommended some great restaurants and even upgraded my room due to a minor noise the first night. They are very attentive and aim to please. I highly recommend this lovely place. Nikki B, Connecticut

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This delightful, historic Inn welcomes and pampers their guests and their dogs. Spanish Colonial architecture includes a comfortable "living room" with piano, large fireplace and deep comfy sofas. Terry's Lounge offers a very nice, well-priced menu and bar; no puppies here. Protected, inviting patio with fireplace and heaters. Typical of an older hotel, rooms vary. Helpful front desk and reservations staff will help you select the room just right for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing