We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rave”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had the Pleasure of Staying at the Hotel for Our 14th Anniversary
it was a Great stay, Excellent Service,Great room with a Jacuzzi tub, it is a quaint litttle place located in the downtown area of Carmel
The Front Desk Manager was very Accommodating, her name was Kahli whipple,she saw to our every need and request
we would Highly recomend this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    253
    87
    27
    36
See reviews for
216
653
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a wonderfully charming B&B in the heart of Carmel. The front desk staff was so warm and friendly. They recommended some great restaurants and even upgraded my room due to a minor noise the first night. They are very attentive and aim to please. I highly recommend this lovely place. Nikki B, Connecticut

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This delightful, historic Inn welcomes and pampers their guests and their dogs. Spanish Colonial architecture includes a comfortable "living room" with piano, large fireplace and deep comfy sofas. Terry's Lounge offers a very nice, well-priced menu and bar; no puppies here. Protected, inviting patio with fireplace and heaters. Typical of an older hotel, rooms vary. Helpful front desk and reservations staff will help you select the room just right for you.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Inn's location is excellent - an easy stroll to Carmel's awesome assortment of restaurants and shops. The Inn itself is beautifully designed and furnished for comfort indoors, in private or shared spaces, as well as the wonderful patio with heat on cool evenings. Food and beverages are exceptional, and the service is superb. Although our canine family members didn't make this trip, we had the opportunity to meet some terrific doggies during our stay. Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Second floor corner room with fireplace was terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love this hotel. It is a totally dog friendly hotel, and dog owners tend to be friendly people. Friendly people attract friendly people. The staff are super friendly! From the moment I checked in to this hotel, I loved it. As a matter of fact, I loved it so much that I had dinner seated right at the bar. The bartender who took care of us was a transplant from LA FOOD AND WINE and he was absolutely the greatest host for dinner we could ask for.
You guys make Doris very proud!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Formerly owned by Doris Day this is a stylish hotel in the heart of lovely Carmel. Rooms a touch small but very well appointed with free Wifi throughout. Good sleep quality though some noise from street cleaners and garbage collection in the morning! Great free breakfast included in room.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Cypress Inn for four nights. The check in was a breeze, not to mention immediate help into hotel. Very friendly staff in reception desk, restaurant, bar, waiters, cleaning ladies. The entire experience made our stay magical. We absolutely enjoyed the lively energy coming from the court yard and the music which unfortunately is only 3 evenings.
Our room was the smallest room we ever stayed in and I never sow smaller bathroom in my life. However, we had better view than the room we booked and sacrificed to take what ever was available that day. The breakfast was a lot more healthier than in many other hotels I stayed with breakfast included. We really had a great time there too much to tell.

Room Tip: The standard room that was next to us on the left and the last room at the end was bigger and had co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank et49589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing