We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dog Friendly, beautiful landmark Inn.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Beachmuse63
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly, beautiful landmark Inn.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here last year. We took her Jack Russell since Carmel is such a dog friendly town. It's a beautiful Inn and a quick walk to everywhere in Carmel. Our room was so cute and classic. The rooms are not large but it is a older hotel. The beds are divine. Cozy and we sleep like babies. They give you a dog bed and blanket and treats(nice touch).
The front desk is so helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. The only one downside is parking. We had to park 5 blocks away. That was even hard to find. It's in a residential area so you don't want to get towed. All in all it's a wonderful place full of history.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachmuse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    234
    80
    22
    30
See reviews for
193
596
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Cypress Inn is a very comfortable older hotel in a great location one block off Ocean Street in Carmel. Ambiance was very nice, food was good, bar was cozy and if you have a dog, he/she's welcome too. It's a little noisy if your room backs up to the walkway it and the next building on 7th St., garbage cans rattling, people talking, etc. An upgrade to double pane windows would probably cure that. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torfaen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife had wanted to stay here for years and we finally stayed here for a night on our way down to LA from SF. The hotel is located in a lovely area full of boutiques and restaurants. Parking can be a problem as you may have to park a good way down the street - we were lucky and parked right outside the entrance to the hotel. Our room was a bit small and looked dated although this added to the charm of the hotel. The hotel corridors are full of twists and turns and there are Doris Day pictures everywhere which are great to look at. The in-house restaurant food was OK although the portions were a bit on the small side. There were obviously dogs everywhere but they were all well behaved and didn't smell at all - I didn't hear one bark all night and didn't hear any traffic outside either. Well worth a visit if you like Doris Day and quirky hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MasonMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I chose to stay with the Cypress Inn during a recent business trip, and was very happy I did. The staff is very helpful and genuinely interested in assisting where/when they can. The room was very comfortable and sleep quality was great.
Pros: Wine in the courtyard brought me back to adventures in Italy and France, Great coffee, Centrally located, Exceptional staff!
Con: I would bring my wife with me next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willigwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed only one night on a saturday by calling on a Thursday ( otherwise a 3 night min). The staff was lovely, check in easy, and it is a cute, clean hotel. BUT if you are on the 1st floor you will not sleep!!! You can hear every word and you are very close to bar/ outdoor patio and library. They clearly know this is a problem and have added glass doors where you leave lobby to enter guestrooms, but it does little to mute the noise. There is no air conditioning, so we opened the window ( which faced an alley wall) -- more noise from the nearby outdoor patio reached us as well!
On another note, you must LOVE ( as in be obsessed) with dogs to stay here. Seriously. We have 2 dogs and love them dearly, but this is a hotel for the type of people who think of their dogs as their children. We had fun listening to jazz in the living room and talking to various dog owners ( everyone is very friendly in a dog community way) but would choose another hotel next time, even if we had not had the noise issue. It was just a little too over the top with the whole dog thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ldinteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nor Cal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed at Cypress Inn several times and have always enjoyed our stay. We love the fact that they are pet-friendly, well-located in Carmel-by-the-Sea, and offer great amenities. We have dined in Terry's Lounge and found the food to be very good and a great value for Carmel restaurants. Their complimentary buffet breakfast offers a variety of pastries, bagels, the BEST popovers, fresh fruit salad, assorted cereals, and scrambled eggs. Certainly enough food to get you off to a good start of shopping and/or sightseeing. When we stay in Carmel, we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanikailady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We love the Cypress Inn, it has a great location and the Inns architecture is a unique landmark in Carmel. The room was nicely furnished and very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. The Inn has an excellent bar and restaurant and really nice court yards and lobby. The complimentary breakfast was perfect for us with high quality fresh pastries, fruit, cereals yogurts and great coffee. The best part for us was being able to have our little Bichon - Max with us. This is the ultimate Inn for dogs they really have thought of everything including a wonderful pet sitter, bedding and feeding/watering bowls. Despite allowing dogs - their rooms are extremely clean. They really do great job considering most of the guests had dogs and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Thank You Denny, Amanda and Fiona for a great stay.

Room Tip: Great Inn for Fido.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#16 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing