We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally charming B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmel Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Totally charming B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carmel Garden Inn. Both our room and the inn were totally charming, with lots of attention to detail. The bed was extremely comfortable, with soft, high quality linens and lots of pillows. Breakfast was great - they even had gluten free food for me. The owners were incredibly accommodating and helpful. On the phone I mentioned that i was using a heating pad for my back, so they bought a brand new heating pad for me to use during my stay! We arrived very late at night and everything was handled perfectly. The location was excellent - quiet and pretty but also very close to restaurants and stores. Parking was convenient and always available. This is a great place to stay. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smp788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments and are so happy your stay with us was memorable. One of the things we like to do is cater to our guests' individual needs, requirements and likes. By letting us know in advance, as you did, that you needed the heating pad or that you had dietary preferences helped us greatly to prepare for your stay. So...thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon, Julian, Susan, Mary, Laura, Dennis and our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place was perfect, we were travelling the west coast on our honeymoon. The Carmel Gardens Inn was just up the hill from all the shops, beach and restaurants only a 10 min walk.

The Gardens Inn lived up to its name, we arrived at 6pm and with a warm welcome and some cheese and wine perfect to take and eat in our little private garden, we had some company from a hummingbird! We have never seen one before but they leave feed out for them so they fly around so pretty!

Breakfast was yum, hosts were very friendly. There is a real fire in the rooms so very snug and romantic.

There are so many restaurants you will be spoilt for choice! Would recommend little Napoli for the best stuffed gnocchi I've ever tasted.

Recommend highly to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartravellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Your comments warm our hearts. When Susan and I (and Dennis our Innkeeper) purchased the Inn in March 2013, we had three driving forces to guide our path: we wanted to give Susan the fun opportunity to treat our guests to her creative cooking; we wanted to give Dennis the fun opportunity of creating really interesting and lovely gardens both in the common areas and the private patios; we wanted to give me (julian) the fun opportunity to serve good wine, tell stories about the area and talk with our guests. THANK YOU for giving us the opportunity. Julian and us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I spent 1 night at the Garden Inn. We had a very nice time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Inn is within walking distance to town (the Carmel shops) and had off street parking. We enjoyed our breakfast and the evening wine/cheese. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate your review. We are constantly looking at new interesting breakfast ideas and expanding our wine party in the afternoons. Having you stay and have a good time at our Inn is very rewarding for us all. Thank you, Julian, Susan, Mary, Dennis, Laura, Curtis and our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed staying here in June for 2 nights. The room was adorable-cedar floor to ceiling, complete with fireplace. The innkeepers were all very nice and personable. Breakfast was a good mix of continental and something warm. The first breakfast was a broccoli and mushroom frittata, and the next morning was a choice of eggs & sausage or a waffle. Man was I sorry I didn't get the waffle like my husband did! It was made with almond flour and was pretty insane.
2 negatives: the bathroom was dated and could use a little TLC, but it almost adds to the charm (cracks in the wall etc). And the bed was the worst bed we slept on our whole vacation! The bedding was lovely...but the bed felt like a blow up bed. A disappointment for sure.
Overall, I would not let either of my negatives sway you from staying here. A great place and very unique.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
You are so special to have written this review. Thank you so much. Susan Mary Dennis and Laura really create exciting food in the mornings for sure. And they love creating in the kitchen. As I have thanked reviewers in the past, we look to you as our eyes and ears. While we had the bed on the list to be replaced in the coming months, without your comment, it might have gone until the fall. It is now being replaced within a couple of weeks (ordering the same special beds as we have in the five patio suites that are getting rave comments. I got a chuckle last night as I was falling to sleep. You wrote about the bathroom , "but it almost adds to the charm (cracks in the wall etc)" I had the notion "Yes! What would a Hitchcock movie be without the cracks and character associated with age? Also, where is the charm in perfect plaster..." We love the business and received so much pleasure from your review. Thank you again and come sleep with us sometime in the future on our new bed. Respectfully, Julian and all of us here at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and really loved it. The room was well equipped, the little log fire is a lovely touch. Having cheese and wine in the breakfast/reception area as a 'freebie' was a surprise and much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and the homemade granola was the best I've ever had. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We greatly appreciate your comments, especially regarding the Granola. Susan takes such pride in having created a recipe that is a hit with our guests. And we sure agree with the wood burning fireplaces...cozy, romantic and charming. Thank you from all of us, Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just spent a lovely two nights at this charming B & B Inn in Carmel. We will be back. Thank you Julian, Susan and the rest of the staff for your wonderful hospitality and knowledge of the area to make a two night stay thoroughly enjoyable.

Room Tip: The garden suites are very nice and all have a private 11' x 14' garden terrace with a table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Susan, Dennis, all our staff and i especially appreciate your comments. Tallulah and you two were such fun to be with.. We love sharing our knowledge of Carmel and special places to go and things to do. Living in the Monterey Peninsula is such a wonderful way to live. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for one night recently. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and our room was great. It was one of their less expensive rooms, but was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The suggestions of where to go during our short stay were very useful and added significantly to a wonderful trip. We will certainly stay there again on our next visit to Carmel.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are fine, as we took the least expensive one available and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you. Your comments about our recommendations of things to do and see highlights something I have tried to accomplish in each of the now 18 Inns i have owned since 1966: give the guest a lot more than a room however grandly furnished or decorated; give the guest an experience; one they will remember and cherish over the years. Carmel is such a charming interesting and special place. We (Mary, Dennis, Susan and myself) have more than 150 years of living and experiencing Carmel to share. And in the sharing, we have the tremendous opportunity of having our guests from all over the world, share their travels, experiences, lives with us.Thank you for this opportunity to share! Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Property: Carmel Garden Inn
Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing