We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Garden Inn
Nearby Hotels
$266
$180
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$695
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$204
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$179
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quail Lodge & Golf Club(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$396
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $545/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$682
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $523/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
198
47
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
47
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrittataprivate patiowine and cheesehomemade breakfastbanana breadorchid roomgranolawood burning fireplaceshort walk to downtowncharming b bdog bedrestaurant recommendationswonderful staycozy placeking bedworking fireplacequiet street
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 257 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Carmel, with the best bed and breakfast accomodation! I loved the room, as it was cozy and had a warm and inviting feel to it, as if it were a home away from home, with a cozy fireplace, nice bathroom with full shower and tub, and luxurious, comfortable bed, with sitting area and large patio, great to relax and take in the beautiful fushia plants and beautiful trees surrounding the property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review and comments.. Our gardens are being planted for the winter this week and our decorations for the season are coming along well. Your appreciation of our Inn makes us all so very proud. Thank you! Julian and us all at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stopped in Carmel and had a brief but very enjoyable stay at the Carmel Garden Inn. It truly is a garden setting with cozy brick patio, colorful plantings and birdsong. The hosts Dennis and Julian were very welcoming and helpful in recommending an excellent restaurant for dinner, The Flying Fish. Being long time Carmel residents they have a wealth of information. Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and breakfast buffet were both excellent and nicely displayed. Our room had a king bed with good linens, fireplace, flat screen TV, and a mini kitchen although I think that is superfluous given the evening and morning goodies offered in the dining area. The bathroom was very small but I understand that will be corrected in an upcoming remodel. All in all it was delightful and at a very good pricepoint for Carmel and the short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review of us and our Inn. Your comments reflect an appreciation of what we are now. As the months go by, we will continue to make further improvements. However, as many of you have told us, we absolutely must maintain our sense of history and respect for the Inn, its gardens, and architectural integrity. Therefore, all remodeling with be functional and not change the aesthetics of the rooms or gardens. Fortunately, our remodeling appears to be rather non-invasive with little or no interference to our guests.Thank you again for your review and critique of how we are doing. Thanks! Julian and on behalf of us all at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I and our two poodles visited Carmel for the annual Poodle Day activities a week ago. It was our first visit to Carmel Garden Inn and we had one delightful discovery after another as we walked through the garden to our room. First was our spacious private brick courtyard under the oaks with table and seating for four, then into the room with a terrific new eastern king mattress, lots of space around the bed, a fireplace, a mini kitchen with table and seating, a new TV on the wall, a DVD player and a small library of old classic movies in the lobby (free - we watched The Maltese Falcon). Even our dogs got sheeted beds. The bathroom is small but adequate, and is scheduled for upgrades.

Wine, cheese, and other treats were provided in the late afternoon and many of the guests gathered around the tables in the common garden area. There is also common indoor seating if the weather is poor. Breakfast was spectacular and to call it extended continental seems an understatement. On various days we had scones, frittata, muffins, a fabulous chili cornbread with salsa, hard boiled eggs, homemade granola, yogurt... oh my. And the coffee could not be better.

I can't imagine choosing to stay anywhere else in Carmel.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that open to the garden. There are less expensive rooms that open to Torres although it seems to be a fairly quiet shady street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you so very much for your review, staying with us and sharing our love of Poodles. Trevi, our silver standard, is shy having been attached by a large dog recently, but had a very good time thanks to all the poodles who stayed with us and you and your two especially. What fun! Your descriptions of our inn are also appreciated for their depth and detail. One of the many things that made purchasing the Inn last March so attractive was the luxury all the common areas and gardens afford. So many guests from strangers enjoying our wine party, to family reunions to Poodle day attendees get to mingle casually, sitting and talking in our gardens and dining room. Thank you again and see you same time next year, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed here, booking last minute, whilst travelling along the Californian coast on our Honeymoon.
Firstly the staff were fantastic, especially Dennis & Julian, they gave us advice on lots of places to visit and were really helpful.
The room was lovely & a very good size, they even have a fire in each room which my partner loved.
The hotel is well located & offers a love breakfast to get you started, there's even wine & cheese hour each evening.
Fantastic placental stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I remember you two well. Dennis and i had such a good time sharing our insights and stories with you and having you so appreciate them. As we continue to improve our rooms, we will strive to maintain the fun of having you, our guests, give us such positive input. Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again some time in the future. All the best, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our family of four stayed in the Carmel Garden Inn in August 2013. The room was spacious - a very comfortable King sized bed, and pull out sofa, a little sitting nook with a mini-fridge and coffee maker, a small bathroom, a flat screen tv, and even a fireplace. There was a private brick courtyard out front of our room. The hotel feels old - but in a good way, like it has solid bones. The bathroom is small, and the shower tiny, but it was so charming I didn't really care. They provided a delicious breakfast plus afternoon wine and cheese, both free of charge. The hotel staff were very nice. We got a last minute room and only stayed two nights (normally I believe there's a 3 night minimum that time of year - it was during Carmel's car show). At a little more than $200/night it was a steal by Carmel standards. An easy 5 minute walk to the main strip, with restaurants, galleries, etc. The only thing to consider is that the hotel is above the village in a quiet neighborhood, not down near the water. This was fine for us. First choice for us when we return to Carmel. As an aside - we are not big car fans, but the car show was fabulous. And of course if you are in Carmel you must go to Point Lobos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 510globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We really appreciate your review and greatly value your photographs. They are clear and really show the features (and bathroom size) accurately. Thank you! As we get into the fine tuning of the remodeling in the coming four weeks (remodeling in November first two weeks) we have your words as the primary guiding principle "The hotel feels old-but in a good way, like it has solid bones." We respect those bones and the Inn's age. Our renovations must preserve and honor both. Hope to see you again soon, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews