We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great place to stay!”
Review of Carmel Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmel Garden Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had to book last minute as our other B&B was cancelled due to overbooking. I have to say that Susan, Julien, and Dennis were the nicest people giving us great food and activity recommendations. Breakfast each AM was delicious and their evening apps & wine was fantastic. We stayed in the Rosita room which had a small kitchenette, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom - very spacious! We would stay here again in a heartbeat - certainly turned our pile of lemons into lemonade - thanks again!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. One of the best decisions we have made during the past several months is to have focused on our food, wine and our dining area, thereby giving us all a place to mingle and share with our guests the special and little known things we enjoy doing in our village. Thanks again for staying with us and writing a review. Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

A couple of weeks ago we stayed at Carmel Garden Inn with our two small dogs. We wanted to go out for several hours one of our evenings but there were no last minute "doggy babysitter" accommodations in town so one of the innkeepers, Andrew, volunteered to sit with our dogs while we were gone. The dogs loved him and he obviously took good care of them as we could see they really liked him! Thanks Andrew for going above and beyond to help make our stay even more special. Nice sincere young man and very helpful.

Thanks Carmel Garden Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your praise. It means so much to us all here at the Inn. We take a lot of pride in how well you, our guests, are treated. We are also very appreciative of the opportunity we have in only having ten rooms... it affords us the chance to offer service "above and beyond" and to really interface with our guests. Lots of fun. Thank you, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

on our way to san francisco we stayed one night at this lovely b&b. when we arrived dennis (owner?) welcomed us and was very friendly telling us things about the region and carmel. also in the morning everyone was very helpfull and friendly. our room was big enough, bed great. Only the bathroom is old and should be renovated ( but i think the new owners know that and will do this soon?). At the aftnernoon there was wine and cheese offered, and also the breakfast was very good. Nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orianajade_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Your candid review is greatly appreciated. Dennis, our Innkeeper, has enjoyed his passion immensely since we bought the Inn in March. He loves gardening. Susan and i, the owners, do indeed know the need for remodeling the bathrooms. Money is waiting to be spent and the plans for the refurbishment are with the city fathers awaiting approval. Work should be done in November. Thank you for staying with us and for writing the review. Hope to see you with 'new' bathrooms, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here recently during the Pebble Beach Concourse event. The hotel rooms are nicely appointed. Our room (Fuschia), had a kitchenette with a small refrigerator, coffee maker & microwave. The bathroom is a bit small, but nice towels and bath supplies (shampoo, conditioner, etc.). The king size bed was very comfortable.

Our room had a nice patio behind a tall fence where we could sit and drink our coffee every morning. There is a nice breakfast every morning along with wine & cheese in the afternoon.

The hotel staff was very friendly & willing to help us with restaurant recommendations. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in the Fuschia room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We really appreciate your review. All of us here love to host and help you, our guests and we just love praise naturally. We will welcome your return. Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hubby and I had a busy summer with a bunch of work matters and I knew we needed a night away to recharge. We love going to Carmel (we got engaged on the beach 8 years ago) and usually stay somewhere between Carmel-by-the-Sea and Carmel Valley. We decided to stay directly in Carmel-by-the-Sea and I found this b&b on Trip Advisor. The price was right and we liked that they didn't have a 3 night minimum stay like so many of the other options this time of year. We had never been to a b&b and I was a little nervous---would it be awkward, cramped, full of dusty antiques? My fears went away after we checked in. Our room was larger than I thought, had a cute living room with fireplace, kitchen, and separate bedroom with a bath. We were way excited to have a coffee maker (it's the small things) and wi-fi was a nice bonus. The owners were very hospitable and we made a quick stop for the wine and cheese hour before heading out to explore town. (side note: we ate at Augergine for dinner. It was AMAZING. Highly recommend it for a special splurge night). Accommodations were cozy and we enjoyed the yummy breakfast and coffee in the morning. I am definitely recommending Carmel Garden Inn to friends and family and hope to return when I want to escape the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikediva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are so very pleased your first B&B experience was with us and was good. Thank you for the review. Susan and Mary really pride themselves on their breakfasts so your comments are especially welcomed by them as well. FYI our coffee is Carmel Valley Roasting Company and we agree, it is really good. Thanks again, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My cousin wanted to book this B&B because they offered a TripAdvisor discounted rate. At first, we reserved a room that was on the 2nd floor and has a small glimpse of the ocean and a tub. We paid $50 more than the regular room, which had a discounted offer. When we arrived, the room was not available due to a broken toilet and we were given a room without a view and a smaller bath but it had a nice garden patio. At any rate, we meet the owners, and they gave us a good discount the following day, since we didn't get the original room we liked. I give this a 5-star not really because of the room. I give this a 5-star because the owners were really nice and they understood that we were a bit disappointed with the substitute room and compensated us with a discount. Julian showed us that 2nd floor room, and it was indeed a very nice room. We will stay here again and hope that 2nd floor room is available. Thanks for your hospitality. We enjoyed the town of Carmel and Point Lobos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

As you well know, our inn needs the continuing love, care and modernization (though respectful of the Inn's history and past character) that we have started in March when we bought it and continue. Turns out the toilet in the 2nd floor room belongs in a museum according to the plumber. Anyway, it is brand new now and awaits your return. I want to thank you for your review. But also for accepting our discount and acknowledging our efforts. So many folks, when disappointed, turn a deaf ear and just stay disappointed or angry. You did not and for that we really thank you. Sincerely, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For our anniversary we stayed one night in room 4 or Heather. It was bigger than we needed, had a king bed (very comfortable) a loveseat, a kitchenette, good counter space with microwave, mini fridge and sink, a fire place, flat screen tv (and cable, but we never turned it on). Our only issue (and I know that they plan to work on it over the winter) was the shower, but I know that by the time we would go again that will be fixed. Maybe they should consider detachable shower heads and separate hot water heaters for the rooms so that if someone flushes a toilet in another room you won't know. Also they should update or even just label the wall heater in the main room and the dials in the bathroom. We figured out how to start the heater, but not how to turn it off, and in the bathroom we think on was the fan and no idea what the other dial was.
Overall it was a great place to stay and we will go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian b, Owner at Carmel Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Your review is appreciated. Thank you so very much for the photos. We are planning the complete restructure of all our plumbing as you pointed out. Recirculating pump system, new pipes hot and cold and sewer lines, revamp of some showers to get a roomier feeling and overhaul of the existing bathrooms. All done with respect to the period of the Inn built 1949.See you again, Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Garden Inn

Address: NW Corner 4th Street and Torres, P.O. Box 5547, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: $166 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our five patio suites have totally new bathrooms from basement to attic. All the patios are freshly painted. Our bistro dining rooms now serves a home made hot item changing each day for breakfast and we have added lemon bars, chocolate chip cookies right from the oven to our wine party. The wood for all ten fireplaces is seasoned pine and lights quickly, cracking with natural warmth to offset the summer foggy evenings in Carmel. S'mores in our fire pit nightly, on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Garden Court Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing