We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Cottage Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln Green Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lincoln Green Inn
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed five nights in The Friar Tuck cottage. This place is awesome! First, the cottages are so neat, but the bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast is brought to your cottage every morning and you do get to make some selections. We also ate one morning at The Cottage Restaurant to have a hot breakfast and I had the best Eggs Benedict I have ever eaten. The inn is close to the beach and makes for great walks and getting to town is a short drive. You can walk to town, but it is a bit of a hike. Our cottage had a gas fireplace which we used in the mornings even though our stay was in August. Our visit to Carmel was fabulous, but the Lincoln Green Inn made our stay so comfortable we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr8slowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here on a family vacation, so we booked 4 of the cottages. All were comfortable and cute; most had full kitchens, which was really great for us.

Pretty garden with lots of sitting areas. The cottage I was in, Friar Tuck, had a side yard with a lounge chair. Little John also had a nice attached yard area.

I loved having breakfast delivered in the morning- lots of choices for a continental breakfast, but since there's a kitchen, you can also supplement.

Friendly cat is a bonus.

Close enough to walk to the beach. Can walk into town, but it's not super close.

Room Tip: Look through the cottage descriptions to see which one suits you best. Of the 4 that I saw (Robin H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I have traveled and lived the world over and Lincoln Green exceeded any expectations we may have had. The grounds are lovely, the cottages are beautifully detailed, and the wine/appetizers in the afternoon is just frosting on the cake. After staying in Maid Marian cottage we didn't want to go home. A delightful weekend, with supreme thanks to Lincoln Green. It doesn't get any better than this, believe me. Wish I didn't have to share it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelagentreplies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently had a wonderful stay at Lincoln Green Inn. To sum it up in one word? Perfection! We stayed in friar tuck cottage and it was wonderful. The perfect balance between quaint Carmel and touches of luxury. Yes, it is a little pricey, but we left feeling like we got very good value for our money. Everything from thick plush towels, wonderful bedding, wine in the garden in the afternoon and breakfast delivered to our cottage left us feeling very pampered. Throw in being able to bring our dog and have a short walk to the beautiful beach, and it left us feeling we will be back very soon! Thanks so much Lincoln Green Inn for your fantastic hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Lincoln Green Inn. The Friar Tuck Cottage was the perfect setting for our romantic anniverary getaway. The rooms were clean,the area was quiet and the staff was brilliant. The gardens were well kept and the wine and cheese every evening added a nice touch. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Lincoln Green Inn has 4 lovely cottages. We stayed at the Maid Marian and it was absolutely charming. We felt lime we were in the South of France with all of the French decorations. The bed was a heavenly bed! You get to pick your breakfast menu and they deliver whenever you wish. Carmel beach is only 3 blocks away and Ocean ave where the Carmel shops are is about 3 mins drive. My 20 month old son loved the place too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We conducted a LOT of research prior to our third trip to Carmel. This was our first trip there with kids - and we chose it based on great reviews on the internet. We wanted someplace kid friendly and convenient to the beach and town. Before kids, we were avid gardeners, so the grounds were like heaven on earth to us. Our kids (4 and 6) are still in the temper tantrum stage - so we remained a bit stressed throughout the visit of disturbing the neighbors - even with closed windows and doors, but that was really the only drawback. We stayed in Friar Tuck and were very pleased with the comfort, cleanliness, and ameneties. The fully equipped kitchen was great for us since we were able to prepare and have picnic lunches quite easily. We never took part in the complimentary breakfast, though at the end of the vacation, we regretted not doing so. The wine and cheese was a nice touch at the end of the day, with no pressure to mingle with other guests. Juice was provided for our kids. The girls absolutely fell in love with Buddy the resident cat. The only downside to the entire trip was on day 2 (or 3) when the refrigerator broke down and I had to throw out about $25 in untouched food. However, once I notified the office, a dorm sized replacement refrigerator was provided. Overall, a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srain66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Green Inn

Property: Lincoln Green Inn
Address: 26200 Carmelo St, Carmel, CA 93923-9134
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, breathtaking beauty: four enchanted cottages, lush English gardens, wine and cheese reception, breakfast basket, close to Carmel Beach and Artisan Village. Lincoln Green Inn, a historic bed and breakfast built in 1925, delivers one to the enchanted era of Shakespearean England. Enter the lush English country gardens and be enveloped by a delightful visual banquet, enjoy warm and professional guest services, relax in the elegance of these beautiful cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lincoln Green Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Green Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing