We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it says..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #3 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“As good as it says..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Everything about it was fab! Make sure you book or you probably won't get in. Food was all wonderful and service fantastic!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,993
    460
    134
    37
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“#1 in Carmel? No surprise there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a fantastic evening at Dametra. We made a late reservation for a table at 9.15pm and arrived to the sounds of drums and singing. My husband and I have travelled extensively in the Mediterranean and Middle East. The food at Demetra is truly authentic and the hospitality equally so. We struggled to choose from the extensive menu so ended up selecting six different starters. Each was delicious and we were tempted to return the following night too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelazysundays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Mediterranean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was everything everyone said. It was worth the wait, food is fantastic. It is small and noisy, but it sort of adds to the atmosphere. There was occasional live music that came through to do one song and made it more fun.

Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rrlawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovey Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch at Demetria. Our food was delicious: falafel sandwich, vegetable soup of the day, & pesto chicken pizza. The bread in the beginning came out steaming hot and fresh. At the end of the meal we received a small complimentary baklava dessert that was divine! The atmosphere was inviting and festive. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The prices are very reasonable. We will definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dancenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Good food and great service. The staff will break into song at a certain point in the evening, which is fantastic. Seems like they love working together and love serving their guests, and that is what makes the difference. The food is tasty, but what pushes it over the edge is the staff. Make a reservation or show up early because it fills up super fast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing