We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service, decor”
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, service, decor”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My friend and I ate at Dametra Cafe on Nov 5th.

We ordered a combo appetizer, Greek salad, and wine.

This was the best middle eastern food I've had in a restaurant.

The service was perfect: competent, friendly, and didn't interrupt us unnecessarily.

While we were there, the staff took up instruments once and played a couple middle eastern numbers while customers were encouraged to dance.

The restaurant is decorated beautifully, from cool light covers to frescoes (am I using that term correctly) on the walls.

We didn't have reservations, and we waited about 30 minutes to be seated was about 30. All customers waiting for tables were given complimentary glasses of wine.

Prices are very reasonable, considering the quality of the food. By clicking on the Tripadvisor 'Menu' link you can see specific prices.

I already look forward to my next visit to Dametra Cafe, when I will sample more of the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewBoySac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,036
    472
    138
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and Romantic”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Super close quarters and a very friendly staff lead to a very nice romantic dinner with my date.

The owner gave us complimentary hummus with pita after we ordered Baba Ghanoug.

Dinner was Greek Style Lamb Shank and Istanbul Kebab. Absolutely delicious. Fall off the bone perfectly cooked.

Romantic Spanish singing with a Mediterranean flare

Complimentary Baklava was PHENOMENAL

Overall very friendly and attentive service and amazing food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were just looking around Carmel for a very late lunch and found this wonderful little restaurant. The atmosphere was welcoming, price is reasonable, and food is good. We had the falafel, gyro and spinach pie and they are all delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFVanCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wow, what a sleeper. This place is a must if you are in Carmel. The food is incredible and the pricing is very reasonable. It is close quarters and the servers are full of life and the people are totally alive in the restaurant. It is a pick me up restaurant for your sole and of course stomach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow - a lot of great food for a small price”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Portions are very large. I would suggest splitting the entrees unless you are very hungry. Very friendly and efficient service. Always seems to be crowded which is a testament to its popularity.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing