We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we ate while in California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #2 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best meal we ate while in California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

While walking around Carmel we noticed how busy Dametra Café was. Upon returning to the hotel we called and the hostess took our info and said they would call if something came up earlier than our reservation time. The fantastic thing is they did call back and we got in an hour earlier than we had booked.
The atmosphere was fantastic - although the negatives were the tables are very close together, so hard to have romance. We were also right near the door into the restaurant and people keep coming in and the door was left open - which would have been fine if it weren't so chilly.
The staff put on a performance which was fun. The staff were also very welcoming and attentive. Our meal was the best part of the experience. I had the Fisherman’s Cioppino which was incredible. My husband had a Greek Combination Platter which had gyros, chicken kabob and hummus and he also really enjoyed his dinner. Overall it was one of our most enjoyed meal while in California.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,769
    397
    116
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent greek/Lebanese fusion cuisine.
charming, intimate atmosphere
Besame Mucho sung by one of the chefs and played on mandolin by owner
What's not to love?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over crowded and noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I don't understand the number 1 rating for this restaurant. The greeter, whom I assume to be the owner was very friendly and offered a warm greeting. We were seated at the last table for two which gave me an unwelcome view into the kitchen. Patrons waiting for the bathroom, which is through the kitchen, waited their turn right by our table. I ordered the moussaka, a kind of Greek comfort food, which was good and plentiful. My wife ordered ravioli which came on a plate with only six or seven pieces. We noted everyone in the restaurant was seated cheek to jowl allowing for no privacy. We felt we paid too much for what we got. The next evening we ate at the Mission Ranch where, although we paid more, we felt we received excellent value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Dametra deserves its very high ranking EVEN THOUGH the food is "only" very good. That is because the service and ambiance is so special. Our experience began when we called to see how long the wait was. The host asked, "where are you friend." When I told him we were staying nearby, he put my name on the waiting list and said he'd call when a table was going to be available in 15 minutes! And he called!! Clever marketing, and necessary since there is virtually no place to wait in this tightly-packed, cozy-yet-high-energy, pretty-yet-unpretentious little place. Once we were seated, the wait staff was attentive and very efficient. And it felt like we were in a Mediterranean village. We definitely enjoyed our food too. Though, to be honest, we have had better. Still, the food is good enough that you don't want to miss the fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve80303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Maybe we ordered wrong?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had lunch here on a family trip with my parents, aunt, and uncle. Was very excited about eating here after reading the reviews. Maybe we ordered the wrong items, but it was nothing special at all. Decor is charming, restaurant small, service friendly and efficient. Greek menu looked interesting. The grilled vegetable salad (mushrooms, eggplant) sounded delicious but was just blah. Mushy, pre-grilled, tasteless vegetables over spinach and totally drenched in a heavy balsamic dressing. Almost inedible. The side salads featured lettuce only and were also drowning in dressing. The Tuscan pizza was okay, very thin crust (which we like), sauce and toppings nothing special. We did love the crusty bread and ate more than we should have to round off our meal because our salads and entrees totally missed the mark. Maybe we were there on a bad day. The restroom can only be reached by walking into the kitchen area where you squeeze against the back wall to avoid a collision with servers and trays of food. Restroom was not clean and smelled off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3SBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing