We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“well overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #1 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 579 helpful votes
“well overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We came here for a family birthday after looking at TripAdvisor and thought being number 1 it must be good. Sorry not the case. We booked for a table of 8 and when we got there had to wait an extra 30 mins on the pavement for our table.
Once in we were cramped in on two little tables by the door, so small that after they took our order, they made us stand up so they could put a larger table in, only problem, now blocking the door, for everyone.
Should have gone then, but carried on. Food was slow to arrive, but have to say most thought it was good.
All came to the conclusion that it was out for profit more than customer service. Seems like people believe that it's OK to be cramped whilst eating your meal, well sorry I don't follow the IN crowd. Don't go here unless you like 2nd rate service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,865
    423
    126
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parbold
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming with outstanding food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As others have said, the owners/managers of this little gem are amazing. The welcome and service are superb. We arrived just in time to get a seat at lunchtime. When we asked about the live music (expecting that this would only be available in the evenings) the Jordanian manager almost immediately fetched his Oud/Buzok (?) and played beautifully in accompanying a kitchen helper (Mexican) with a warm voice in a 'typical love song'. All diners stopped eating and drinking to join in the clapping during the chorus and in the enthusiastic applause at the end of the song.

Nearly forgot. The food is fantastic too!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikejilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped in for lunch - we had the chicken schwarma and falafel. Greek salad that accompanied it was amazing. Found the falafel a wee bit bland, however schwarma was tastier. Were great to offer us complimentary baclava at the end of our dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stumbled into....loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were in Carmel and were really hungry. It was one of the first places we found. And what a find! Wonderful hospitality. We ordered the gyro and hummus. The gyro was amazing! We would order it again. The hummus was average but the warm pita bread was a nice complement. The atmosphere is cozy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakerfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Mediterranean Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I took my new fiancé here for a special birthday dinner, and Dametra's staff made sure that it was unforgettable.

The service was attentive, several staff members came by to congratulate us and wish her a happy birthday, and the food was excellent.

I would recommend Dametra's to anyone looking for a warm, delicious restaurant in the Carmel area. Thanks again for making it a memorable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanogrigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing