We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant on the Peninsula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on the Peninsula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I dined here just the 2 of us and loved every second of it. We arrived early and were given a 'splash' of wine until our table was ready, literally only about 1 minute and it was a good 5 oz of wine. After being seated we were greeted by all of the staff. No one person waits on you the entire time, which we love, as you get to know everyone who is working. We ordered appetizers, main course and dessert with coffee and tea. Right after our main course came out the dancing and music began. Oh man, what fun! We all, the women in the restaurant, got up and danced to the guys playing a song. It was great fun. Then when are desserts and coffee and tea came a more slow song was played and the cook sang. It was all very fun and romantic.
This is my favorite place to eat by far and have gone back a couple more times. Its the whole experience that makes it great. The staff is just amazing- making you feel like you are part of their family. The food- WONDERFUL! I always order the Pasta Dametra. My husband orders different things every time. Their baklava is the best I've ever had and I did a baklava tasting in Istanbul. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants good food and a good time! Oh and don't forget to make reservations or you won't get a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,020
    464
    134
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Peninsula
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We live on the Monterey Peninsula and this is one of our favorites, especially when our family comes with the grandchildren. The food is healthy and there is a good selection of dishes including great vegetarian dishes. The onwer is very accomodating and the cook sings occasionally. Fun place. If you want privacy and a qiet conversation, this is NOT the place to go to as it is small and mostly crowded but a great deal for very good food, especially in little Carmel where most restaurants are overpriced and only half as good. Highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo CA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wahoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Carmel is a pretty sleepy place when the sun goes down. There are a lot of places to have a nice dinner but not many that will fill your evening with the fun you will have here.

Our B&B suggested this place and on our first night in Carmel we walked by this tiny establishment and it was hopping! Everyone inside was having fun and we made sure to get a reservation (hard) the next night.

It did not disappoint. The food was wonderful and the service was great. The owner strolled through a couple of times and with his musical instrument getting everyone singing and clapping. Truly fun. My wife was dancing in the aisles with him!

A good sign? Everyone we met there was a local and a regular.

If you want a fun evening in Carmel this is the place. We will never skip it on a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Is incredible food, excellent services and great atmosphere, best food in Carmel...
Worth the wait
Wild definitely come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angros00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch - true mediteranean food flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lunch in beautiful Carmel by the Sea was just perfect today despite a slight ordering/delivery glitch which was resolved beautifully. A delayed presentation of our meal was accompanied by profuse apologies, complimentary San Pelligrino, dolmades and after meal baclava( th best we have ever tasted ). The dishes were very true to their description, tasty and unalderated by excessive sauces and unnecessary additives.
The starting bread to soak up the olive oil and balsamic vinegar was divine and fortunately lasted us until the misplaced order arrived.
Mistakes happen in the best of businesses including restaurants and the quality of the enterprise canbe judged on their ability to address them.
So instead of being a cranky old traveller intolerant of any imperfections, I applaud Dametra on a very enjoyable lunchtime dining experience.
Ps the gentleman singing in Spanish was a bonus and had all of the clientele attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing