We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A walkable course where the weather is always perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Lodge Resort & Golf Club

Quail Lodge Resort & Golf Club
Attraction details
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A walkable course where the weather is always perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I play this course a lot and love it. They aerated the greens a couple of weeks ago so you may still feel a bump or two, but that should subside soon. The course is getting more traffic these days since the Lodge has been reopened, but the pace of play is usually pretty good. The lakes that have dotted the landscaped are being drained and will be replaced with landscaping to preserve water. Despite this, it is still a wonderful course with nice views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Grand Opening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If the grand opening party is any indication of what good things are to come with Quail Lodge, let me tell you, it is over the top. I was fortunate enough to participate in the grand opening of Quail, and boy was it a party. Friends and I are still talking about the grand affair a week later. We all agree that Carmel Valley has not seen a party like this in years....or maybe ever! Great job to all in charge.....you rock Quail Lodge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really a little disappointing.have just reopened having being. Remodelled at at reported cost of $26m although not sure where all the money has gone. No hot food available , breakfast offering is pathetic , coffee and and muffin etc! This place is charging 5 star prices and unless the food and service currently offered is improved should be rated 3/4 stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean rooms but .........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The room is fine, but bathe when the water was dirty, I went to the concierge and he said he is in Carmel so that sometimes comes out dirty, but it is good hotel should of check so that your water is clean, so I did not like this hotel and although the golf course is beautiful.

Customer attention is very important, which was not at the hotel

AHT

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aht2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, Manager at Quail Lodge Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
On behalf of Quail Lodge & Golf Club, I greatly apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the county-wide brown water issue and that the situation was not adequately conveyed to you. The Monterey Peninsula does not typically experience dirty water; rather at the time you visited, the entire Monterey Peninsula was experiencing a water issue that, according to news reports, was caused when, “A mixer mistakenly left running overnight at a Cal Am facility to remove minerals from the Monterey Peninsula’s water supply resulted in brown water flowing from the taps of some 9,000 customers in Carmel, Carmel Highlands, Carmel Valley, Pebble Beach and Monterey …” (http://pineconearchive.fileburstcdn.com/130726PCfp.pdf).

As you can see, this issue was a county-wide problem and had nothing to do with Quail Lodge & Golf Club’s facility itself. As soon as we were notified of the problem, we immediately supplied bottled drinking water to our guests. The water issue was resolved in a matter of hours. Our front desk manager conveyed that, as a courtesy, Quail Lodge’s 24-hour cancellation policy was waived for this guest, and we enabled him to opt-out of his second night’s stay without charge as a resolution for the inconvenience.

We have not experienced brown water issues since this day. Again, I apologize that this occurrence took place during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great 18 holes of golf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took a trip to the Carmel area and didn't want to spend the big bucks to golf the famous Pebble Beach golf courses (been there, done that.) Found the Quail Lodge golf course and thought it was a beautiful course for the money. We didn't stay at the lodge but highly recommend the course if looking for a nice place to play where you don't have to take out a loan to do it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quail Lodge Resort & Golf Club also viewed

 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Quail Lodge Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing