We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Plaza

Carmel Plaza
Ranked #17 of 109 things to do in Carmel
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Carmel Plaza is three level outdoor shopping center with over 40 stores, restaurants, art galleries and wine tasting rooms set in a lush garden. Nationally known stores located in the Plaza as well as specialty boutiques featuring internationally known designers. Events are scheduled throughout the year, such as fashions show, cooking demonstrations, concerts and pop up markets.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
390 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Walking around Carmel Plaza is just gorgeous! I was more interested in looking at all the flower/landscaping designs than the shops! The cheese shop in Carmel Plaza was particularly fantastic as they helped us pick out wine and cheese and snacks for a little picnic that night. Some of the stores are chain stores you'll find at home and those we skipped. Overall a must visit even if just to see the flowers!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
441 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Catalog and chain stores”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you're looking for items from the J.Jill or Sur la Table catalogs, you'll find them here, along with J. Crew and other chain stores. Open air, the 3rd level features art galleries.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel p, Concierge at Carmel Plaza, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for visiting! Yes we are one of the only areas in beautiful Carmel-by-the-Sea which includes mainstream stores as well as one-of-a-kind boutiques! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shop Til You Drop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Terrific shopping in Carmel just off Ocean. Nice blend of national and local retailers selling a little bit of everything. Enormous Anthropologie, best cheese shop you will ever visit - The Cheese Shop, and super wonderful Cole Hahn store. Don't miss Alisa at Cole Hahn. Nobody does it better. Another plus is that the fabulous Carmel Food Tour begins here and ends close by so you can come back and shop shop shop after all the wonderful tastings from the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cflynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmel p, Concierge at Carmel Plaza, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for visiting! We hope you will come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great place to shop! Lots of cool stores, little shops as well as name brands like J. Crew, Anthropologie and Kate Spade. I have to say the girls working at Kate Spade are the nicest sales people I have ever met!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,291 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,034 helpful votes
“Charming specialty shopping center in a garden setting- worth a stroll for an hour or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a well designed shopping center, with a range of interesting specialty shops, as well as pleasant garden landscaping.

One of my favourite stores here is the Sur La Table kitchen shop- there's always something interesting!

Also, you can have a light meal or coffe, sitting eithevinside or outside.

It's a pleasant place to visit, whether you're doing window shopping or serious retail therapy!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmel Plaza also viewed

 

Been to Carmel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing