We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened?”
Review of The Barnyard

The Barnyard
Aguanga, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hank B. hit the ole nail right on the head with his review--this center is nothing like it once was. Where did all the cool shops go? A few years ago we made several trips to the Barnyard as my wife liked it so much. This last visit was extremely disappointing. It is still beautifully landscaped and decorated, but that is about it. Next visit to Carmel, I'll pass.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillyBob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    46
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The stores at this location are very mediocre. We were there on a Friday and you would think you would see people walking around and visiting the small shops. The Barnyard was almost totally empty. The main reason we feel is there is nothing there to attract people to come and shop. Years ago it was a very busy and inviting environment.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a nice surprise to find this place behind the motel where we were staying. Ate dinner at one of the restaurants with a fireplace pit proving warmth. Beautiful flower gardens and shops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lugano Swiss Bistro”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place is friendly, cozy and welcoming. We dine here at least once a week and always bring visiting family and friends here. You can count on the service and we have had consistently excellent and delicious food in all the years we've been visiting. Especially try the fondue and the schnitzel!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQueenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A nice place to browse and eat”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I have been here numerous times on trips to Carmel. We stopped in here again a month ago on the way to big sur for camping and had a nice time. There are many shops and places to eat and grab a cup of coffee. It is a nice place to go to get away from Carmel village and the prices and selections are a bit better

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnyard also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to The Barnyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing