We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual”

San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission
Book In Advance
More Info
$91.00*
and up
Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive Day Trip from San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 110 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1771, this Spanish mission is one of the most beautiful in the state and worth a visit for its serene aura. The mission includes a working church, gardens and interior exhibits.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spiritual”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a must this second time in Carmel. My teens and I walked from 4th and San Carlos St. Partial sidewalks 3/4 of the way, but pretty safe. Enjoyed the 15/20 minute walk considering the eating out we've been doing. Very low admission cost. The grounds are absolutely stunning. It's like I fell back into time. The Catholic missionary history lesson was educational. Quiet, Respectful, Spiritual environment. Each of us lit a candle and said a prayer. If you don't plan to return to Carmel, make sure you spend some time here esp. if God is an important part of your life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    124
    29
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As all the missions in California, they re very peaceful and quiet. This one has a nice church you can visit. There even was a wedding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

With three teenagers in tow on our trip to California, I had to talk them into visiting the Carmel Mission. But once they spotted the beautiful courtyard with fountains, gardens, and sculptures, and learned about the history of the place and saw the Spanish architecture and exhibits, they were glad we stopped! Everyone in our family enjoyed seeing the mission, and even learned a few things at the same time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A beautiful holy site”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is a wonder to see that this Mission is so well preserved given its history. Anyone who is interested in the California Missions will want to visit this one since it is here that the founder of the Missions, Blessed Junipero Serra is burried.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First Time”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have been to Carmel several times, but never visited the Mission. We walked from downtown which is about a 20 minutes walk. The road has no sidewalks, but we enjoyed looking at the houses and gardens. The Mission itself is very interesting, and took us about an hour to see it all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing