We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Carmel
from $49.95
More Info
from $48.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
275
102
26
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
102
26
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junipero serra california history gift shop father serra buried here grounds are lovely active church great history self guided tour nice place to visit local history take your time monterey peninsula carmel by the sea mile drive mass museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given the number of tourists in Carmel, we were quite surprised to find not that many visitors to the Mission. Yes, it has been almost totally rebuilt from a wreck, but it had been done very well indeed. One learns quite a lot about the early History.

1  Thank BobandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Mission is simply superb. As you travel within the various buildings, and the historical markers on the inner areas, speak with the docents. Docent - MICHAEL BACKIK is a wealth of knowledge with his facts, photos of historical events at the mission, and knowledge of the reconstruction. You may light a candle for loved ones or purchase religious icons in the extensive gift shop. TAKE YOUR TIME - read all of the information signs, feel the depth of faith in the area, take time to relax and get in touch with your true and peaceful inner self.

1  Thank 24thIDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Very nice Mission with a great history. This was the second mission built by Father Sierra in the Upper California.
This Mission was first founded on June 1770 by the Franciscan Father Junípero Serra in Monterrey, then moved to the actual site on August 1771.
In this Mission Father Sierra had his permanent settlement and he was buried beneath the chapel floor after he died on 1784.

1  Thank Miguelvaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

My wife and I recently returned from a trip to coastal California with our two granddaughters. We had many interesting and fun experiences there, but among the most enjoyable for me were visits to two of the old missions, Santa Barbara and Carmel, or properly San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo. The missions were a delightful alternative to the crowded, tourist oriented modern attractions and the busy city scenes of L. A. and San Francisco. There is a quiet beauty and lovely proportion to the old Spanish mission architecture, simpler than the the grand Spanish Baroque of Latin American churches. The grounds are gardens of flowers and statuary, with quiet, shaded paths leading to ancient tombs and arched entrances. Museums with artifacts, old photographs and other historical items of interest are available. Almost all of the old missions had fallen into severe disrepair or even rubble by the mid-19th Century. The story of their founding, abandonment, restoration and rebuilding is an important part of California's, and our nation's history. To visit the missions is to glimpse "another California" and a reminder of how simply beautiful California can be.

2  Thank NCLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

I believe this is the mission is where the man responsible for all the missions being built is entombed. It’s a lovely building and worth a visit.

Thank TravelinSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

It's always great to visit the Monterey Peninsula and the Mission gives you a break from overly touristy Carmel with a touch of history. Building itself from the outside is picturesque, as are views from the grounds. Inside is not bad, but the attraction is outside and the garden in front is lovely. There is an admission charge and parking is there, but kind of limited. You are, ironically, not in town itself, rather in a suburban neighborhood.

1  Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We were on a trip to see California Missions with our ten year old grandson who is interested in history. We also have an ancestor, Manual Butron, who is buried in the back of the Mission. We wanted him to see that grave in particular and understand the honor it was to be buried in the Mission. We and he were very impressed. We took a nice3 self guided tour of the buildings and some of the inner courtyard.

1  Thank Monte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

The mission was a nice place to visit. I enjoyed all
Artifacts and pictures on the walls. Enjoyed all the history of the mission and the courtyard with the beautiful flowers. I bought a beautiful bracelet there in the gift shop. Glad I stop in.

Thank amandalyn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

San Carlos and all the other missions are highly recommended if you are into Spanish by structures and Missions.

Thank AZBigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

So many things to see here. The story of the missions, the beautiful pipe organ, the papal visit, the courtyard, the museum. Allow for an hour or two, and please do be respectful and use quiet indoor voices.

1  Thank Queeniefb2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews