We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walk or long hike ... Oh the views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Ranked #1 of 108 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Short walk or long hike ... Oh the views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Whether you are looking for a short walk or a decent hike, this place offers absolutely fabulous views that really have to be seen to be believed. We arrived early and were glad we did as they start limiting cars when it gets busy so plan accordingly particularly on a nice day. The Whaler's Cabin is worth a stop and the short hike out to the cypress grove is a photographer's dream. $10 for a car and another $2 for a map and brochure. Worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,803
    294
    33
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
“Very Scenic Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I spend a whole afternoon here with my family. Very scenic spot to look at. We took a lot of nice pictures of the cliffs and the ocean.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wing P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited this wonderful state reserve by chance - came recommended over coffee with locals in Carmel. It is like stepping into Heaven on Earth. We were alone for most of the time - we visited in December. The weather was glorious. Amazing aquamarine waters, blue skies. The best views you could possibly imagine. A Maritime Protected coastline. Lovely walks. Wildlife everywhere. We were very lucky to have three deer walk and feed right in front of us. They moved on quite nonchanantly after about 10 minutes while we stood there spellbound. Better was to come - we saw a pod of humpback whales spouting and rising slightly above the water. After we left the reserve we followed them down the coast, stopping at every viewpoint we could. They had been quite a way out when we first spotted them at Point Lobos but later came much further in so they were very visible. Absolute magic!!! We feel very priviledged to have been to this beautiful part of the planet.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“World Class Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stunning views of shoreline, coves, and Pacific Ocean. Park off the 1 before you get to the park. (Parking is $10, if there is any.) Follow the trail in and start your hike along the shore (stay of the road). Continue and enjoy as far south as you can go, then catch the loop back up. Be sure to pack lunch and water. Great for little ones as there are many short hiking spurs. There was even a pod of whales migrating during our hike. Tide pools as well. The whaling shack was fascinating, with real bones that the kids could touch and pick up. Only downside, it was super crowded.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travlmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“CA coast at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful scenic area and coastal trails. Friendly park staff. Get there early for a parking space as it is very popular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing