We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nothing else compared” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Lobos State Reserve

Point Lobos State Reserve
Ranked #1 of 109 things to do in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch whales in winter and sea lions all year round at this Bay Area nature reserve, which offers hiking, walking, bird watching, scuba diving and magnificent views.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nothing else compared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was beautiful, we hiked for 5 hours here. No other park compared to it, beautiful scenery. We liked the walking in the different coves, there was nothing we didn't like about this park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank candygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,919
    309
    34
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great park to hike in and see a very dramatic stretch of coastline. It's a great place to be if you're there when the fog is moving through the trees along the trails.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingBurritoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice rides and sea wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

good walks, nice views of sea wildlife, weather mostly foggy, but worth visiting, very cheap only $10 by car

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow- possibly best stop on 2 week California family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We did it all from San Diego-LA-Santa Barbara/Monterey-Santa Cruz- San Fran- and this was the best- we are not really a hiking or "nature" family- and this blew everyone away- spent hours when we expected a 20 minute stop over- loved the sites, animals- just a hidden gem- well worth it- skip the 17 mile drive and do this!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shheppysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“STUNNING Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a must-see park!
Just a few minutes South of Carmel, CA.
Great hiking trails, most along the ocean!
The views will leave you breathless!
Bring a camera and a picnic and enjoy the day!
Wear good walking shoes as the trails can get uneven.
My favorite park in the area!!
Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mytravels68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Lobos State Reserve also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Point Lobos State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing